Five alumni comprise the 2012 Elon Sports Hall of Fame class

Lakia Hayes Morton '98, Kelly Lloyd Roscoe '99, Derrick Moore '01, Whit Bryant '03 and Brandon Mason '04 G'06 will be honored on Sept. 8.

The five alumni make up Elon’s 42nd Hall of Fame Class and will be inducted at a 1:30 p.m. ceremony in Whitley Auditorium. They also will be recognized during halftime of Elon’s first home football game of the season, a 7 p.m. matchup against North Carolina Central University in Rhodes Stadium.

Highlights of each inductee’s accomplishments are listed below. For full bios, visit

Hayes Morton earned three letters and two Basnight Awards as Elon’s top female athlete in 1997 and 1998. Her 17.1 points-per-game average is tied for third best in Elon history, and she is one of just four Elon women’s basketball players to grab more than 300 rebounds in a single season. Hayes Morton earned All-Big South honors and All-American honorable mention honors twice.

Lloyd Roscoe was among the nation’s toughest softball players to strike out. She made it through the 1998 season without striking out once and over the course of her Elon career struck out just 20 times. She earned four letters and led the team three times in batting average; her .381 career and .445 single-season (1997) batting averages rank first in Elon’s fast-pitch softball history.

Moore steered Elon’s triple-option attack to perfection from 1997 to 2000, amassing more than 5,700 career offensive yards – good enough for second in program history. He has two of the three longest plays from scrimmage in Elon history to his credit, including the top run on the list – a 90 yard scamper around Morehead State in 1998.

An exceptional pitcher/outfielder, Bryant earned four letters and helped Elon to its first NCAA Division I national tournament berth in 2002. He was the first Elon player to record 200 career hits (280 total) and earned the Basnight Award as Elon’s top male athlete in 2001 and 2002. Bryant was drafted in the 24th round of the 2002 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft by the Philadelphia Phillies.

Mason’s Elon resume is a veritable laundry list of honors for both on-field performance (two-time All-So Con first team; four-time Football Gazette National Offensive Lineman of the Week) and achievement in the classroom (first-team ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American; three-time FCS Athletic Directors Association Academic All-Star). He received two postgraduate scholarships from the FCS Athletic Directors Association and the National Football Foundation/College Football Hall of Fame, which he used to pursue his MBA at Elon.

The Whitley induction ceremony is free and open to the public. Tickets for the evening football game may be purchased at