Watson/Odyssey programs highlighted by AASHE

The Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education lauds Elon's program for first-generation and low-income college students.


Elon University was one of four college and universities highlighted this month by the STARS Facts and Best Practices blog hosted by the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education.

The programs were joined on the AASHE blog’s list by initiatives at Western University, New Mexico State University and Anne Arundel Community College in Maryland.

Founded in 2008, the Watson and Odyssey Programs comprise recipients of several endowed scholarships. Watson Scholars receive either The Leon and Lorraine Watson North Carolina Scholarship or The Elon Commitment Scholarship. Odyssey Scholars receive one of five endowed scholarships: The Honorable Thad Eure NC Achievement Scholarship, John L. Georgeo Scholarship, Margaret Ann Hall Scholarship, Susan Scholarship, or Mac Mahon Family Scholarship.

Both programs provide scholarship recipients with support services such as peer and faculty/staff mentoring, coaching, campus networking, leadership and service opportunities, and funding for book and computer stipends. Some additional funding minimizes loan burdens while encouraging and supports student participation in engaged learning opportunities like internships and study abroad.