Communications Alumni Network organizes, elects officers

The Communications Alumni Network heard a State of the School address from the dean and an update on the Elon Mentoring Network at its organizing meeting Oct. 20.

Katie Sherman, associate copy director at Condé Nast in New York City, was selected as the inaugural president of the Communications Alumni Network. Sherman, a 2004 graduate of the School of Communications, will serve a one-year term.

Bettina Johnson, social content strategist for Pace Communications in Greensboro, N.C., will serve as vice president and president-elect. Johnson is a 2006 School of Communications graduate and a 2011 M.A. in Interactive Media graduate.

The three inaugural Steering Committee members are Brian Moore ’89, producer/director of Rolling Stock Pictures LLC in Arlington, Va.; Ben Parrish ’09, development producer at Stone & Company Entertainment in Los Angeles; and Mitch Pittman ’09, multimedia journalist for ABC affiliate KSTP-TV in Minneapolis.

At the organizing meeting, Dean Paul Parsons provided an update on student, faculty and program elements in the School of Communications, including architectural renderings of an expanded school at its current location.

Ross Wade, assistant director for Career Services in the School of Communications, displayed the online Elon Mentoring Network and encouraged alumni to become mentors.

Associate Dean Don Grady described the school’s pilot program to have professionals assess the quality of student electronic portfolios.

Assistant Professor Gerald Gibson, who serves as the school’s coordinator of alumni relations, presided at the organizing meeting.

The Communications Alumni Network meeting was followed by alumni visiting the school’s tailgate tent preceding the Homecoming game.

Additional Media