Dean’s Reception celebrates Class of 2013

On the eve of commencement exercises for the Class of 2013 at Elon University School of Law, members of the class celebrated with family and friends.

“We appreciate the contributions of the Class of 2013 to Elon Law enormously and we congratulate them for what they already have contributed in service to the public,” said law school dean George R. Johnson, Jr. “They could not have achieved this milestone without the support of their families and friends and loved ones. ”

Alexis Martinez-Fedrizzi, assistant dean for student affairs, presented the following awards to individual members of the Class of 2013:

Gwendolyn Lewis received the North Carolina Advocates for Justice Student Advocacy award, recognizing a graduating student for demonstrated commitment to public service and excellence in trial and/or appellate advocacy skills.

Chantelle Lauren Lytle received the ALI-CLE Award, recognizing a graduate who best represents a combination of scholarship and leadership, the qualities embodied by the parent organizations, the American Law institute and the American Bar Association. 

Shoshana Fried received the Clinical Legal Education Association’s Outstanding Student Award for excellence in the field determined by representing clients; excellence in student’s course work and exploring the legal, ethical, strategic and pertinent issues raised;  as well as the students’ contribution to the clinical community.

Brett DeWitt and Gwendolyn Lewis received the Distinguished Service Award, established by the faculty of the law school to recognize “service to the law school through engagement in and contribution to the life of the school and demonstrated commitment to its mission.”

Micah Cooper received the Bankruptcy Institute Award for demonstrating excellence in the study of bankruptcy law.

Spencer Lee Hill received the International Academy of Trial Lawyers Award for demonstrating an overall ability in trial advocacy by high achievement in trial practice and evidence, as well as in pleading and procedure courses.

Timothy Mearns received the Marshall-Thompson Award for Outstanding Achievement in Constitutional Law Studies, an award created by Barron Thompson L’09, providing the recipient with a stipend in recognition of excellence in the study of Constitutional Law.

Courtney Roller received the National Association of Women Lawyers Recognition for academic achievement, motivation, tenacity and drive and for recognized potential to contribute to the advancement of women in the society.

The following members of the Class of 2013 were recognized for being part of the inaugural Pro bono Board at Elon Law: Shoshana Fried, Stephen Hegedus, Melodie Menzer, Jason Senges and Jack Westall. In addition, John Jenkins was recognized for significant contributions in developing and advancing initiatives of the Pro Bono Award.

The following students received North Carolina Bar Association Pro bono Recognition Awards for providing at least 75 hours of pro bono legal service in the community: Sarah Boshears, Grant Buckner, Sherea Burnett, Jennifer Crissman, Benjamin Crissman, Will Drath, Sally Duncan, Paul Elledge, Shoshana Fried,  Charles Gaylor, Dustin Gill, Karima Grady, Michael Grigg, Daniel Harris, Stephen Hegedus, Kristi Hollar, Erika Hunter, Andrew S. Jones, Adam Kerr, Michael Koeltzow, Christopher Lane, Gwen Lewis, Elizabeth Linka, Kathryn Maultsby, Jenifer McCrea, Melodie Menzer, Erin Milligan, Jason Senges, Natalie Shave, Kate Shimansky and Nicholas Spivey.

Melodie Menzer received the North Carolina State Bar Student Pro bono Award, recognizing the public service rendered by one law student at each North Carolina Law School and presented annually at the October meeting of the North Carolina State Bar. 

The following students were inducted into the Elon Law Chapter of The Order of Barristers in recognition for achievement in moot court and mock trial activities: Grant Buckner, Jennifer Meeks, Will Drath, Jacob Pryor, Andrew R. Jones, Justin Ramey, Gwendolyn Lewis, Kate Shimanksy, Chantelle Lytle and John Warren.

On behalf of the Class Gift Committee, Janison Dillon announced the completion of an extensive enhancement of a student lounge and study area in the law school

Select the following links to view slideshows from the Dean’s Reception for the Class of 2013 and the Elon Law Alumni Association’s Welcome Reception for the Class of 2013