2013 Intramural Moot Court champions announced

Hayley Sherman and John Boschini won the final round of the Sixth Annual Elon Law Intramural Moot Court Competition held on September 30. Genna Petre and Bree Shadrick were the first-runner up team. Shadrick was also named “Best Oralist from the Final Round,” and Michael Costolo was named “Best Oralist from the Preliminary Rounds.”  The team of Katie Lester and Mark Henkle took “Best Brief” honors.

The finalists advanced after very competitive semifinal rounds against the teams of Nick Leger and Lani Wright, and Ian Phillips and Kelly Stage. Quarterfinalist teams included: Brett Lane and Grant Erskine, Jordan Funke and Cecilia Jones, Devon Johnson and Michael Costolo, Katie Lester and Mark Henkle, Ernest Lewis and Sam Viscuso, and Nick Livengood and Daniel Watts.

The final round of the competition was judged by the Honorable Robert H. Edmunds, Jr., an associate justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court; the Honorable Robert N. Hunter, Jr., an associate judge of the North Carolina Court of Appeals; and the Honorable Patrick Auld, a magistrate judge of the United States District Court for the Middle District of North Carolina. The competition was organized by the intramural competition committee of the Moot Court Board: Chair Patrick Ward, Jennifer Bobowski, Kristen Delforge, Ben Kempton, David Lambert, Wade Love, Kaalil Muhammad, Annie Murphy, Christian Robin and Ben Woody.

The Moot Court Board and the law school recognized with appreciation the following attorneys and judges, in addition to the judges cited above, for serving as judges in the tournament.  Elon Law alumni are noted with asterisks.

Brennan Aberle*
David Ahmadi*
Bert Andia
Adam Arthur*
Christopher Avery*
Gary Beaver
Kathleen Bradshaw
Howell Burkhalter
Jason Burton*
Melanie Crenshaw*
William Daisy
Clarke Dummit
Sally Duncan
Richard Gabriel
Jay Gervasi
Fred Hamlet
Daniel Harris*
Jennifer Hoverstad*
Leslie Lasher*
Jeffrey Maggs*
Matthew Mason
Jenifer McCrea*
Dean Kate McLeod
Joseph Milam
Barbara Morgenstern
Tanisha Palvia
Caroline Pemberton
Christopher Poe
Richard Rice
Steven Scoggan
Polly Sizemore
Ben Snyder*
Adam Spivey*
Nathan Standley*
Jenny Sweet*
Richard Webb*
Enyonam Williams
Mark York*

Each fall, the Moot Court Board invites rising 2L and 3L students at Elon Law to compete in the Intramural Moot Court Competition. This competition provides students an excellent opportunity to practice and sharpen the research, writing and oral advocacy skills they learned during the first year. In addition, top competitors in this annual competition are invited to join the Moot Court Board and to participate in the Board’s activities, which include sponsoring the intramural competition, hosting the Billings, Exum & Frye National Moot Court Competition and fielding our own teams in competitions across the country. Most years, one quarter to one half of 2L students compete in the intramural competition. Invitations for membership on the Moot Court Board will be extended within the coming week. An announcement of the new members of the Board will be issued soon thereafter.

Information about the annual Intramural Moot Court Competition at Elon Law is available here.

Information about the Moot Court Board at Elon Law is available here.