2014 Intramural Moot Court champions announced

Mackenzie Myers and Joshua Bonney won the final round of Elon Law’s Seventh Annual Intramural Moot Court Competition. Jaclyn Maffetore and Anne Evangelista were the first-runner up team. Evangelista was also named “Best Oralist from the Final Round.” Nickie Young was named “Best Oralist from the Preliminary Rounds.” The team of Megan Boorsma and Marissa Kuzbyt took “Best Brief” honors.

The finalists advanced after very competitive semifinal rounds against the teams of Marissa Kuzbyt and Megan Boorsma, and Lizzy Coltrane and Jenny Meyer. Quarterfinalist teams included: Laura Sloane and Morgan Meyers; Brian Sharpe and Aaron Davis; Nick Livengood and Justin Byrd; and Caitlin Robinson and Nickie Young.

The final round of the competition, held September 29, was judged by the Honorable Robert H. Edmunds, Jr., Associate Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court; the Honorable James L. Gale, Special Superior Court Judge for Complex Business Cases, North Carolina Business Court; and Professor James G. Exum, Jr., former Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court.  The competition was organized by the intramural committee of the Moot Court Board: co-chairs John Boschini and Hayley Sherman, Michael Costolo, Kathryn Corey, Grant Erskine, Jordan Funke, Devon Johnson, and Genna Petre.

The Moot Court Board and the law school recognize with appreciation the following attorneys and judges, in addition to the judges cited above, for serving as judges in the tournament.  Elon Law alumni are noted with asterisks.

Stanley Allen
Christopher Avery*
Kathleen Bradshaw
Whitney Butcher*
James Clark
Scott Cook*
Kristen DelForge*
Lee Denton
Melissa Duncan*
Alexander Eiffe
Brendan Garcia*
Fred Hamlet
Suzi Haynes*
Mallory Horne*
Peter Isakoff
Ben Kempton*
Peter Lam*
David Lambert*
Gwen Lewis*
Wade Love*
Matthew Mason
Eric Medlin
Angela Miller
Barbara Morgenstern
Patricia Perkins
Michael Rich
Jenny Sweet*
Ben Woody*
Mark York*

Each fall, the Moot Court Board invites rising 2L and 3L students at Elon Law to compete in the Intramural Moot Court Competition. This competition provides students an excellent opportunity to practice and sharpen the research, writing and oral advocacy skills they learned during the first year. In addition, top competitors in this annual competition are invited to join the Moot Court Board and to participate in the Board’s activities, which include sponsoring the intramural competition, hosting the Billings, Exum & Frye National Moot Court Competitionand fielding our own teams in competitions across the country. Most years, one quarter to one half of 2L students compete in the intramural competition. Invitations for membership on the Moot Court Board will be extended within the coming week. An announcement of the new members of the Board will be issued soon thereafter.

Information about the annual Intramural Moot Court Competition at Elon Law is available here.

Information about the Moot Court Board at Elon Law is available here.