Award-Winning Orientation Head Staff Makes Impression at Regional Conference

The leadership team for New Student Orientation were recognized for excellence at the National Orientation Directors Association (NODA) Region VI conference.

Elon’s New Student Orientation Head Staff team attended the Southern Regional Orientation Workshop (SROW) hosted by Murray State University in Murray, Kentucky March 27-29, 2015.  Held annually, SROW represents Region VI for the National Orientation Directors Association (NODA), a professional organization dedicated to providing education, leadership, and professional development in the fields of orientation, transition, and retention in higher education.  This year, nearly 2,000 undergraduate, graduate, and professional staff attendees gathered in Murray for the conference.

Head Staff, a group of 17 students who provide leadership for Elon’s Orientation program, were selected to present an educational session during the conference.  The discussion highlighted the philosophy and values that scaffold the excellent peer-training training program, as well as the importance of quality peer mentorship during student transition.  More than 45 undergraduates attended the presentation to learn from Elon.

In addition to educational programs, Elon University earned recognition during the awards ceremony.  Head Staff members Sarah Vaughan and Evan Skloot received the award for Best Overall in the Undergraduate Case Study Competition, and the group was voted as exhibiting Best School Spirit for the small school delegation at the regional conference.

Sarah Vaughan '16 and Evan Skloot '16, recipients of the Best Overall Case Study award.
Sarah Vaughan ’16 and Evan Skloot ’16, recipients of the Best Overall Case Study award.[/caption]

Elon students who attended the conference and received these awards included sophomores Kianna Bermudez, Ben Bridges, Abbie Dalton, Caroline Fernandez, Zach Gianelle, Nicky Kratzer, Zach Strohmeyer, and Casey Tait, and juniors Anna Brown, Ryan Chronowic, Julie Dennen, Alison Doherty, Marlee Jones, Evan Skloot and Sarah Vaughan.