Elon Law Moot Court students win professionalism award at national competition

Meghan Smith and Jackson Barnes, second year Elon Law students, were recognized for their exemplary professionalism at the Eighth Annual Charleston School of Law National Moot Court Competition on March 18-19, 2016. Smith and Jackson won the competition's Professionalism Award, selected by the Charleston Moot Court Board as the team best representing professional integrity, courtesy, and esteem throughout the competition.  

Elon Law students Jackson Barnes and Meghan Smith, recipients of the Professionalism Award at the 2016 Charleston School of Law National Moot Court Competition.  

The team performed well in three preliminary rounds, facing tough competition, including Regent University School of Law, Florida State University College of Law and the University of Illinois College of Law. Regent eventually won the final round of the competition and received the overall Team Champion award. Professor Todd Bruno, the director of Charleston’s Moot Court Program, noted the high caliber of competition and that the scoring in the preliminary rounds was very close. 

In announcing the Professionalism Award at the competition’s awards ceremony, Charleston Moot Court Board Associate Justice Joe Schillizzi explained that the Board annually selects the competitors who best demonstrate professionalism in the competition. He commended the Elon Law team members on how they conducted themselves during the preliminary rounds throughout the competition, particularly following their elimination, when they stayed positive and actively engaged in the competition, observing the final rounds for the educational experience and supporting their fellow competitors. The team was coached by Professor Tim McFarlin, and third-year student Jennifer Meyer was a member of the team, contributing to the written brief and oral argument practices leading up to the competition. Professor Jim Exum and Sr. Assoc. Dean Woodlief also practiced with the team.

“Elon Law students strive to do their best and to win every competition, but more importantly, they aim to do so with a spirit of civility and collegiality,” noted Senior Associate Dean Alan Woodlief, director of the Elon Law Moot Court Program. “Professional integrity and judgment are cornerstones of the legal education at Elon, and we are proud to have our students recognized for their professionalism.”   

Earlier in the spring semester, Elon Law students Allie Hall and Elizabeth Leo competed at the William B. Spong Moot Court Tournament at William & Mary Law School, Jaci Maffetore and Jason Pruett represented the school at the National First Amendment Moot Court Competition in Washington, D.C., and Laura Sloane and Sam Price competed at the J. Braxton Craven, Jr. Memorial Competition at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The law schools was also represented at the ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competition in Washington, D.C. by Morgan Meyers, Nickie Young, Sean McLeod, Danielle Prongay, Todd Kendrick and Jennifer Labeau. These teams were coached by Professors Enrique Armijo and Thomas Noble, Dean Woodlief, and adjunct professor, Michael Costolo L’15. All of these teams represented the law school very well, and many of these second-year students will build on this experience when competing again next year.

In a few weeks, the Board will cap off the year by hosting the Sixth Annual Billings, Exum & Frye National Moot Court Competition from March 31-April 2, 2016. This year’s competition is the largest ever, with 40 teams from 24 law schools across the country competing.

More information about the accomplishments of Elon Law’s student moot court board is available here.