Teacher education alumnae receive Teacher of the Year recognition

Two Elon graduates were named Teacher of the Year at their schools. 

Casey Collins ' 11, Teacher of the Year, Eastlawn Elementary School
Elon University’s Teacher Education program produces classroom teachers that are “dedicated and highly skilled, proven capable of inspiring students of all backgrounds and abilities to learn” in accordance with national guidelines.

Casey Collins ’11, music education teacher and coordinator of the iMusic afterschool club at Eastlawn Elementary School, and Alexandra Solender ’12, physics teacher chair of science department at Holly Springs High School, were both recently selected as Teacher of the Year at the school level. They will each advance to compete at the district level. 

The N.C. Teacher of the Year program recognizes teachers at the school, local, regional and statewide levels. The goals of the program are:

  • to recognize and honor teachers who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and excellence in teaching

  • to recruit a quality and diverse cadre of teachers

  • to model best practices in teaching

  • to communicate and impact educational issues and policies

  • to build effective partnerships

  • to advance a communication network among teachers

Congratulations Casey and Allie on this outstanding accomplishment!