Embrace your calling: School of Education inducts 17 into Kappa Delta Pi

Seventeen undergraduate and graduate students in the School of Education were inducted into Kappa Delta Pi, the international honor society in education that promotes the highest ideals of the teaching profession, on April 18, 2019.  

Seventeen undergraduates and graduates have been invited and inducted into the membership of Kappa Delta Pi, the international honor society in education, through the Sigma Gamma Chapter of Elon University.

The initiation ceremony took place on April 18, 2019 in Johnston Hall.

The Society inducts only those individuals who have exhibited the ideals of scholarship, integrity in service, and commitment to excellence in teaching and its allied professions. Selection as a member of Kappa Delta Pi is based on high academic achievement, a commitment to education as a career, and a professional attitude that assures steady growth in the profession. At Elon University, members must earn academic excellence with a GPA of 3.6 or higher and the recommendation of three teacher education faculty members.

Stephen Byrd, associate professor of education, faculty sponsor and organizer of the event, began the ceremony with the lighting of the white Kappa Candle acknowledging the organization’s commitment to Elon’s motto, Numen Lumen. Allison Bryan, director of the curriculum resources center and instructor in education, Erin Hone, lecturer in education, Portia Wade, lecturer in education, and Dani Lane, pre-doctoral fellow and instructor in education, led the students in affirming the society’s ideals of Fidelity to Service, Fidelity to Science, Fidelity to Humanity, and Fidelity to Toil.

Stephen Byrd offered a charge to the inductees on the theme, “Embrace your calling; Honor your commitments.”  During his charge, he reflected on his induction ceremony into Kappa Delta Pi and how he remembers feeling honored and being a part of something noble. He encouraged inductees to "wake up each day, determined to fulfill your commitment to help students despite yesterday's failures."

Marna Winter, senior lecturer and department chair of education and wellness, concluded the ceremony with the society motto — "So to serve that each day may enhance the growth of exploring minds; so to live that we may guide young and old to know the truth and love the right. To the fulfillment of these objectives, we pledge our efforts."

The School of Education is proud of the following undergraduate and graduate student inductees:

Carol Boggess, M.Ed. in Gifted Education

Colleen Cody, Special Education and Elementary Education

Samantha Collins, History with Teacher Licensure

Emily Frizzell, Special Education and Elementary Education

Sandra Garcia Pinilla, M.Ed. in Gifted Education

Nathan Hunnicutt, Middle Grades Education

Annabelle Jones,  M.Ed. in Gifted Education

Molly Kearns, Special Education and Elementary Education

Shannon MacRae, Elementary Education

Danielle Marzullo, Special Education and Elementary Education

Marcella Mastrocola, Elementary Education

Emma Mutascio, Special Education and Elementary Education

Kristen O'Neill, Special Education and Elementary Education

April Patton, M.Ed. in Gifted Education

Emma Pippert, Special Education and Elementary Education

Jennifer Rathjen, M.Ed. in Gifted Education

Lauren Ventresca, Special Education and Elementary Education