Beta Gamma Sigma recognizes high-performing business students

The international honor society serving AACSB-accredited business programs welcomed 66 new members.

By Erin Manchuso '19

Elon University’s chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma inducted 66 members during a May 7 ceremony held in the LaRose Digital Theatre.

Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) is the international honor society recognizing top-performing students at AACSB International-accredited schools. The organization’s mission is to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business, foster personal and professional experience to advance the values of the society, and to serve its lifelong members.

Raghu Tadepalli, dean of the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business and BGS chapter president, led the ceremony.

The chapter honoree and keynote speaker was Bill Burpitt, professor of management in the Love School of Business.

Burpitt is retiring at the end of the month after teaching at Elon for 16 years. He served as associate dean for graduate and executive programs from 2011-17. Under his leadership, the MBA program opened a satellite campus in Research Triangle Park, developed a JD/MBA program in partnership with Elon Law, and established the M.S. in Management program.

In his address, Burpitt spoke about his diverse employment history throughout his career. Holding a variety of positions throughout his career ranging from active-duty serviceman in the U.S. Army to a radio disc jockey to a building contractor, he provided hard-earned advice to the burgeoning business professionals. He advised students to pay attention to the little things, take care of their reputation and accept the imperfect humanity in those around them as keys to a long, successful career.

Chapter members voted Hani Tadros, assistant professor of accounting, the 2019 Beta Gamma Sigma Professor of the Year based on the following criteria: encourages and honors high academic achievement by students of business; fosters in students an enduring commitment to the founding principles and values of the society – honor and integrity, pursuit of wisdom, and earnestness; and supports the advancement of business thought and practice to encourage lifelong learning.

Tadros joined Elon in fall 2015. He previously taught at Fayetteville State University and Concordia University. His research interests include environmental and management accounting.

2019 Inductees


  • Grace Bailey
  • Graham Basquin
  • Olivia Burns
  • Hannah Feldhues
  • Connor Fioretti
  • Thomas Flournoy
  • Thomas Garcia-Meitin
  • Eleanor Hatch
  • Gillian Hook
  • Andrew Jackson
  • Annabel Lindh
  • Kelly Mahoney
  • Anne McInnis
  • Lindsey McNeil
  • Brian Mischler
  • Matthew Mitten
  • Alexander Mock-Rossi
  • Ciara Mottley
  • Marybeth Nemecek
  • Meghan O’Connell
  • Lindsey Patterson
  • Alexandra Pirsos
  • Anthony Potenza
  • Carly Recoon
  • Andrew Rees
  • Amy Rodriguez
  • Holloway Rule
  • Arianna Shahin
  • Madeline Skaife
  • John Snow
  • Kaleigh Studdert
  • James Tarantiles
  • Hailey Tucker
  • Andrew Veilleux
  • Thea Vunk
  • Elijah Wheeler


  • Joseph Abrams
  • Hannah Benjamin
  • Joshua Cadorette
  • Carrie Calkins-Tucker
  • Peyton Chur
  • Gavin Cutrino
  • Autumn Hall
  • Gregory Holler
  • John Iannotti
  • Jaime Kellinger
  • Dana Knowles
  • Thomas O’Connor
  • Katelyn Roache
  • Gwendolyn Treco
  • Taylor Turgeon

MBA/MScM/MSA Candidates

  • Robert Amerson, Jr.
  • Victoria Brown
  • Dakota Delk
  • Thomas Fitzgerald
  • Emma Holderread
  • Catherine O’Neil
  • Charles Perkins
  • Halley Sickling
  • Andrew Smith
  • Justin Thompson
  • Viviana Vargas Vivanco
  • Ying Zhou


  • Chris Harris
  • Sean McMahon
  • Lin Zhao

Outgoing BGS vice presidents

  • Emma Ott
  • Conor McVeigh

Incoming BGS vice president

  • Noor Irshaidat