German honor society recognizes 2019 inductees

Eighteen new members were inducted into Elon's chapter of the Delta Phi Alpha German national honor society ion May 10.  

Elon's chapter of the Delta Phi Alpha German national honor society inducted 18 new members on May 10.

The German National Honor Society, known as Delta Phi Alpha, was founded in 1929 and has over 300 chapters in the United States. Elon’s chapter was founded in 2018 by Assistant Professor of German Kristin Lange.

This year’s inductees span 15 disciplines, including Architecture, Business, History, Music Performance, German Studies and Political Science. "The academic diversity of these top students shows that German has broad appeal," said Associate Professor Scott Windham. "Students from a wide range of majors have found serious academic and professional reasons to make German a part of their lives."

Delta Phi Alpha promotes the study of German language, literature, and civilization and offers chapter grants and student scholarships.

2019 Delta Phi Alpha Inductees:

Jack Dudich (Architecture)
Emily Poteat (History)
Anastasia Theoharis (Political Science)
Chris Pottorff (International Business)
McKenna Patterson (Accounting)
Divya Dewan (Finance; Marketing)
Claire Jones (Communications Design; Psychology)
Kristina Meyer (Religious Studies)
Justin Whaley (International Business Dual Degree)
Olivia Pellarin (International Business)
John Martinides (Finance) 
Carolyn Struyk (Marketing; Finance)
Hannah Strickland (Music Production & Recording Arts; Violin Performance)
Michael Kaether (Political Science; International and Global Studies)
Brogan Quick (Business Management)
Julia Towner (Music Performance; German Studies)
Cameron Birtcher (International Business Dual Degree)
Trevor Murrah (Political Science)