Rochelle Ford honored with PRSA’s Outstanding Educator Award

The Public Relations Society of America, the nation’s leading professional organization serving the communications community, presented the accolade during its 2019 International Conference on Oct. 21 in San Diego.

In recognition of Rochelle Ford’s contributions to the advancement of public relations education through college and university teaching, the Public Relations Society of America honored the School of Communications dean with its 2019 Outstanding Educator Award. It was one of eight individual awards presented on Oct. 21 during the PRSA 2019 International Conference in San Diego, honoring members who have served the society with distinction and made a difference in the public relations profession.

Communications Dean Rochelle Ford was honored with the Public Relations Society of America’s 2019 Outstanding Educator Award at the organization’s International Conference on Oct. 21 in San Diego. Accepting the award on Ford’s behalf were Bey-Ling Sha (center) and Kanika M. Watson (right). Also pictured is Debra D. Peterson, 2019 PRSA national chair. Photo courtesy of PRSA

Bey-Ling Sha, dean of the College of Communications at California State University, Fullerton, and Kanika M. Watson, executive director of strategic communications at Johns Hopkins Carey Business School, accepted the award on Ford’s behalf.

Sha was among the other honorees and received the D. Parke Gibson Award, which recognizes a public relations professional who has helped expand awareness of public relations with multicultural communities.

“We are incredibly pleased to recognize these individuals for their outstanding achievements in public relations,” said Debra D. Peterson, 2019 PRSA national chair, in an Oct. 20 release. “I’m always inspired by the extraordinary work our members do and these award winners epitomize exceptional public relations professionals.”

Ford has been an active PRSA member serving in several leadership positions for the nation’s leading professional organization for the communications community. She has been the Champions of PRSSA co-chair since 2010, as well as the programs chair and board member of the PRSA Foundation since 2012. Ford was also inducted into the PRWeek Hall of Fame and the PRSSA Hall of Fame in 2018 and 2000, respectively.

In March, PRWeek crowned the School of Communications its 2019 Outstanding Education Program.

Hill elected

In other news, Assistant Professor Denise Hill was elected as director of PRSA’s Southeast District at the San Diego conference. The position has a two-year term.