Love School of Business graduate students honored in virtual degree conferral ceremony

Graduate degree candidates in the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business were conferred degrees during a virtual ceremony on Thursday, May 21.

The Martha and Spencer Love School of Business celebrated its newest class of graduate degree candidates during a virtual degree conferral ceremony on Thursday.

Graduates of the school’s Master of Business Administration, Master of Science in Business Analytics and Master of Science in Accounting programs were honored online as the university continues to follow social distancing guidelines amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

Watch the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business graduate degree conferral ceremony here

Raghu Tadepalli, dean of the Love School of Business, opened the ceremony by welcoming and congratulating graduates and their families on the work and energy that went into successfully completing the MBA, MSBA or MSA programs. Tadepalli encouraged graduates to remember the lessons they learned on cultivating relationships to foster productive teamwork, welcoming challenges and opportunities, and building a strong sense of community the way they did in their time at Elon.

“When you look back at your graduate education experience, I hope you will remember many things, but do not let this global pandemic be the defining factor,” Tadepalli said. “Instead, continue to rise up and apply what you have learned.”

During the ceremony Director of Graduate Programs Kristy Ruiz recognized MBA candidate Katherine Scott as the 2020 recipient of the Richard H. Behrman MBA Student of the Year Award. The award is named in honor of the Elon MBA program’s first director, Dick Behrman. Each year faculty select a student who excels academically and in making positive contributions to the student-centered learning environment of the MBA program while engaging as a leader both in the program and the community.

Following the award announcement, Ruiz encouraged all graduates to be proud of their accomplishments as they prepare to begin their next chapters.

“Remember this moment with your loved ones,” Ruiz said. “It takes a great deal of energy to remain focused on the big picture and keep going. You have what it takes to persevere.”

Morgan Harvey, an MBA candidate who also graduated from the Elon School of Law in 2018, delivered the student address during Thursday’s virtual ceremony. Harvey expressed gratitude to classmates and faculty for the teamwork displayed and lifelong relationships gained through the program.

“Recently, a mentor told me that ‘iron sharpens iron, and one person sharpens another,'” Harvey said. “Sure, this might occur through a little bit of friction, but true sharpening can’t happen without a few sparks. I’ve seen this so clearly demonstrated during my time in the MBA program. We shared experiences, we learned from one another, we pushed each other to do better and strive for more, and we stood beside one another. ”

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Aswani Volety presented members of the Class of 2020 for degree conferral during the virtual ceremony. President Connie Ledoux Book conferred the degrees before issuing a charge to graduates, encouraging them to be resilient and steadfast in the face of all future challenges while always remembering their Elon experience.

“Your future and the future of Elon are forever connected, and I hope you will think of yourselves as full partners in the future of the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business and this outstanding university,” Book said.

Love School of Business graduate degree students will be invited back to campus in the fall for an in-person hooding ceremony and celebration.

Master of Business Administration Class of 2020

Edem Amable Ahiale
B.A., University of Ghana
J.D., Elon University

Donna Maria Alston
B.S., University of Mount Olive

Leslie Allison Baynes
B.S., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
M.S., North Carolina State University
Beta Gamma Sigma

Evan Allan Dimke
B.A., Concordia College
Beta Gamma Sigma
Phi Kappa Phi

Rana Khan Fahey
B.S., Kennesaw State University

Kyle Ryan Ford
B.S., Utica College

Daniel Brett Gibbs
B.S., Appalachian State University

Renan Gravena
B.S.B.A., Universidade Estadual Paulista
M.S., Universitat Politècnica de València
M.S., Universidade Estadual Paulista
Ph.D., Universidade de Sao Paulo

Nina Nefertari Guzman
B.S.B.A. University of Guadalajara
Beta Gamma Sigma

Colin Richard Harris
B.S.B.A., The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Morgan Ann Harvey
B.S.B.A., Roanoke College
J.D., Elon University

Melissa Shelton Hoff
B.S., The University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Lauren Danielle Hossfeld
B.A., The University of Georgia
J.D., Elon University

Cameron Neil Hunter
B.S., East Carolina University

Hayley Wells Johnson
B.S.B.A., Pace University
Beta Gamma Sigma
Phi Kappa Phi

Jessica Laine Kelly
B.S.B.A., James Madison University
Beta Gamma Sigma

Jason Louis Kemmerer
B.S., University of Georgia

Katherine Elizabeth Ann Kryder
B.S., Ohio University
M.Ed., Loyola University Chicago

Charles Strong May
B.S.B.A., Elon University

Callie Jo Mazejka
B.A., The University of North Carolina at Greensboro

William Clark McGowen
B.S.B.A., Wake Forest University

Kelli Nicole Means
B.A., University of New Hampshire

Andreas James Mosby
B.S.B.A., Greensboro College
J.D., Elon University

Jaylyn Dallas Noble
B.A., Syracuse University
J.D., Elon University

Connor Thomas O’Donnell
B.A., Elon University

Phillip Raymonn Ortega
B.S., North Carolina Wesleyan College

Julia Alexandra Pace
B.A., North Carolina State University
Phi Kappa Phi

Jonathan Michael Parisi
B.S.B.A., Western Carolina University
J.D., Elon University

Stefan Dimitri Pitovski
B.S.B.A., College of Charleston

William Tyler Poole
B.A., The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Beta Gamma Sigma

Ziaedeen Ehson Saadat
B.S.B.A., Guilford College
J.D., Elon University

Katherine J. Scott
B.S., University of Wisconsin-Madison
M.S., Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis
Beta Gamma Sigma

Robert Joseph Seebold
B.S.B.A., Elon University

Adam David Seidman
B.S.B.A., Elon University

Ronald Jack Smith
B.S., Bryan College
Beta Gamma Sigma

Blake Ashley Stockton
B.S.B.A., University of Miami

Walter Craddock Tuttle
B.S.B.A., North Carolina State University
J.D., Elon University

Nicholas Michael Underwood
B.S., Massachusetts Maritime Academy

Courtney Paige Vaughn
B.S.B.A., Elon University

Damien Lee Wassell
B.S.B.A., Alfred University

Joseph Franklin Youngblood Jr.
B.A., North Carolina State University

Master of Science in Accounting Class of 2020

Benjamin Aigler Cook
B.S., Elon University
Beta Gamma Sigma
Phi Kappa Phi

William Everett Mulbry
B.S.B.A., Elon University
B.S., Elon University

Janelle Christian Sanford
B.S., Meredith College

Andrew Cook Shelton
B.S., Elon University

Alexander Lee Spada
B.S., Elon University

A’shia S. Williamson
B.S.B.A., North Carolina Central University

Master of Science in Business Analytics Class of 2020

Justine Reneé Nienow
B.A., Elon University

Robert Lee Readling Jr.
B.S., North Carolina State University

Samuel Scott Shoe
B.S., North Carolina State University