Moot Court Board announces top advocates in intramural competition

Seventy-four students in the Class of 2022 participated in this spring’s Intramural Moot Court Competition, an online contest that allowed dozens of Elon Law alumni from around the nation to join with faculty and local attorneys as judges.

Elon Law’s Moot Court Board has announced the top advocates from an intramural competition in May that scored competitors on a variety of skills that support effective oral arguments in appellate courts.

Seventy-four students in the Class of 2022 took part in the law school’s annual Intramural Moot Court Competition, making it the second-largest intramural contest in Elon Law history.

Each student presented two oral arguments, one for appellant and one for appellee, and was scored on preparation, speaking ability, argument structure, and responses to judges’ questions.

The top advocates in the Spring Trimester competition were:

1. Rosemary Sparrow

2. Morgan Stacy

3. Annette Yospe

4. Madeline Kellas

5. (tie) Charles Deloach

5. (tie) Cameron Capp

6. (tie) Carson Pace

6. (tie) Davis Diethrich

7. Kylyn Mondor

8. Elizabeth Ranson

9. (tie) Jennifer Weigle

9. (tie) Sterling Chafin

10. Amanda Wagner

The online format allowed dozens of Elon Law alumni from around the country to join faculty members, administrators and local attorneys as judges. It was the second consecutive year that the Moot Court Board hosted its intramural contest in a virtual format.

“The competition judges praised our competitors for their oral advocacy skills and poise in the virtual format, as well as our Moot Court Board members for their professionalism and leadership in coordinating such a large virtual competition,” said Alan Woodlief, senior associate dean and director of the Moot Court Program. “Experiences like the intramural competition are equipping our students for modern law practice where virtual oral arguments and meetings, once done as a matter of necessity, will continue as a means to maximize time and financial resources for attorneys and their clients.”

Selections for membership on the Moot Court Board, usually numbering around 25 students, will be announced this summer. The Moot Court Board will host the 12th Billings, Exum & Frye National Moot Court Competition from October 20-23, 2021, as well as competing in a full slate of national moot court competitions during the 2021-22 academic year.

The Intramural Moot Court Competition was chaired by Jessica Leach and Cameron Nieters, with committee chairs including Michael Cline, Joseph De Mond, Aerin Hickey, Megan Reilly-Dreas, Emily Slusser, Zoé Stein, and Savannah Williamson – all members of the Class of 2021.

More information about the Moot Court Board, the BEF Competition and student achievements in national competitions is available here.