E-Net News

Seventy-four students inducted into communications honor society

The School of Communications chapter of Lambda Pi Eta hosted a May 8 induction ceremony, with Associate Professor Phillip Motley serving as the event’s keynote speaker.

Seventy-four new members were inducted into the Elon University School of Communications chapter of Lambda Pi Eta (LPE) at a May 8 ceremony in Lakeside.

Molly Bauer ’19 (right) was one of 74 communications students honored during Lambda Pi Eta's May 8 induction ceremony.

It was the 19th annual induction ceremony for the communications honor society. Photos of the ceremony are available on the school’s Flickr page.

Jessica Gisclair, associate professor and department chair in the School of Communications, congratulates Diego Davila ’19. 

​Associate Professor Amanda Sturgill, the chapter’s acting adviser, oversaw the ceremony with the organization’s executive team – Becca Johnson ’17 (president), Audrey Engelman ’17 (vice president) and Corinne Barrow ’17 (social media specialist).

Becca Johnson ’17 (right), president of Elon’s Lambda Pi Eta chapter, lights a candle during the induction ceremony. Also pictured (from left) are Audrey Engelman ’17, vice president, and Corinne Barrow ’17, social media specialist.

​Prior to the induction ritual, Associate Professor Phillip Motley provided a thoughtful keynote address, encouraging each inductee to become a “changemaker” – a position he believes they are uniquely qualified to hold.

During the ceremony, strategic communications major Elizabeth Zimmerman ’17 was recognized with the Outstanding Honor Society Graduating Senior Award.

​“As future communications professionals, you will soon find yourself in the position of being able to influence the world around you in unique and appreciable ways,” he said. “Because of that, the world and its citizens need many things of you: To be truthful, accurate, unbiased, and forthright; to be positive, empathetic, compassionate, and fair; and to wield the technologies that are inherently a part of your world with care and intentionality.”

He asked the inductees to embrace their potential and seek out opportunities that benefit their careers and lives, as well as the common good. “I bet you’ve all heard the statement ‘be the change you want to see in the world,’” Motley said. “Well it’s really that simple. If you want the world to be a better place, then do something about it.”

Motley concluded with advice for the group’s soon-to-be graduates, who will walk across the Commencement stage in just a few weeks. “You are some of the brightest, most motivated, most creative and capable students at Elon; you can afford to be choosy when looking for your first job as graduates of this great school,” he said.

At the end of the ceremony, strategic communications major Elizabeth Zimmerman ’17 was named the recipient of the Outstanding Honor Society Graduating Senior Award. For the past two years, Zimmerman has served as a communications intern for Elon’s Center for the Study of Religion, Culture and Society, promoting the interdisciplinary study of religion.

During her introduction of Zimmerman, Sturgill explained the senior stood out with an exceptional portfolio. “She's had a lot of varied experiences in media that really show off well,” the professor said.

The Elon chapter of Lambda Pi Eta, an organization affiliated with the National Communication Association, got its start in 1998. Any School of Communications student is eligible for membership when he or she has completed at least 60 hours of university credit, with at least 12 of those hours in the School of Communications. Members must possess no less than a 3.0 overall GPA, and a GPA of at least 3.25 in the School of Communications.

In 2013 the National Communication Association named Elon's chapter of Lambda Pi Eta the national Chapter of the Year and Associate Professor Frances Ward-Johnson the Adviser of the Year.

2017 Lambda Pi Eta Inductees

Bryan Anderson
Molly Bauer
Jason Berk
Ashley Bohle
Jessie Boak
Kateri Braunstein
Kara Brechner
Jessie Brown
Lucas Buck
Evan Burdett
Holland Carlton
Claire Carroll
MacKenzie Clarken
Jensen Collins
Sarah Collins
Emily Corwin
Anna Cosentino
Diego Davila
Rebecca Dewosky
Elizabeth Domeck
Katherine Dorr
Melissa Douglas
Lauren Duncan
Maya Eaglin
Amanda Echavarri
Nicole Feudi
Emily Flynn
Kaitlyn Fu
Alexandra Fung
Emily Genzer
Juliet Goodman
Madeline Gross
Alexander Hale
Jessica Hall
Joelle Halle
Ansley Hamilton
Mitchell Herndon
Emily Hill
Kayla Hoey
Madeline Hoffman
Rachyl Jackson
Lucia Jervis
Rachel Kading
Devin Keirnan
Jordan Levine
Jane Lorenzo
Megan Lynch
Brittany Lyons
Abbey Maloney
Charleen Lopes
Brooke McClary
Kaylina McKelvey
Meghan McSharry
Katharine Milbradt
Emily Morin
Jacqueline Pascale
Eleni Poulos
Contiá Prince
Mollie Richter
Lindsay Rosen
Kiley Rush
Catherine Schubert
Hannah Sicherman
Nicole Sodano
Madison Sowards
Molly Stine
Katharine Swan
Beatrice Taverna
Helen Thompson
Rachel Tinker
Ellie Whittington
Kerry Windle
Rachel Wingrat
Natalie Wright

Tommy Kopetskie,
5/9/2017 2:20 PM