Parsons joins
Accrediting Council


Dean Paul Parsons of Elon's School of Communications was elected to the Accrediting Council of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communications at the mid-winter meeting in Atlanta Dec. 6 and 7.

His term on the council will run from September 2004 through September 2007. Parsons said he is looking forward to serving the field of communications in this important role.

Elon's communications program will be up for accreditation in the next couple of years. "While I will have to excuse myself from Elon's future consideration," Parsons said, "this will also let me be on the inside of the accrediting process prior to our own self-study and site visit."

The Accrediting Council has 34 members - 16 represent educational organizations (Parsons was elected as one of the two new representatives of AEJMC; the other is from Syracuse), 15 members from professional organizations (such as the American Society of Newspaper Editors, National Association of Broadcasters and Public Relations Society of America) and three public members.



Share your news and items of interest. To contact us, e-mail:
School of Communications 
2850 Campus Box 
Elon, NC 27244-2010   (336) 278-5724 
Last Modified:  12/12/03
Copyright Elon University