Campus leaders recognized at ODK awards ceremony

An annual program in Whitley Auditorium on April 26 honored students for their academic performances and leadership traits.


Student leaders from a variety of academic disciplines were honored April 26 at the Omicron Delta Kappa awards ceremony in Whitley Auditorium, an annual ceremony that coincides with CELEBRATE! week.

ODK recognizes students who have provided outstanding leadership in their junior or senior years, and who have maintained high academic performance.

Exemplary achievement and service will also be recognized this spring during individual school ceremonies in Elon College, the College of Arts and Sciences; the School of Education; the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business; and the School of Communications.

2012 ODK award winners included the following:

Iris Holt McEwen Community Service AwardWilliam Ross Brummett
John W. Barney Memorial Award (for highest GPA in graduating class)Virginia Jean Mayer
Truitt Center Reconciliation AwardMaggie Nicole Castor
Ella Brunk Smith AwardShelby Lee Ann McKay
Student Communications Media Award Caitlin Marie O’Donnell
William Moseley Brown Leadership Award Brandon James Christian Brown
Algernon Sydney Sullivan AwardGrant Christian De Roo, Elise Deane Delmerico & Barry Bradberry (staff)
W.L. Monroe Christian Education & Personality AwardRyan Douglas Griggs & Sarah Brady Harrs
Ward Family Learning In Action AwardKevin Tyler Lynch
Thomas Barnett Breaking Down Barriers ScholarshipJamie Nicole Albright