Leadership lauded at ODK awards ceremony

More than two dozen students were honored for their scholarship and their leadership at the ODK awards on April 25.

The Elon community packed Whitley Auditorium on Thursday afternoon to recognize more than two dozen students at the Omicron Delta Kappa awards. The annual ceremony also coincides with CELEBRATE! Week.

Since 1977, ODK has awarded students who exhibit high academic standards and outstanding leadership. Other core components include multicultural experience, athletics, campus and community service, social and religious activities, campus government, creative and performing arts and journalism, speech and mass media.

Exemplary achievement and service will also be recognized this spring during several individual school ceremonies.

2013 ODK award winners included the following:

Student Communications Media Award – Neima Ibrahim Abdulahi

Thomas Barnett “Breaking Down Barriers” Scholarship Award – Amelia Lyn Maki, Emily Maria Steiner, Amy Elizabeth Zemanick

Leadership Studies Award – Kirsten Nicole Ferreira, Sarah Elizabeth Kowalkowski

Hilaire Pickett ’08 Leadership Grant – Ashley Meagan Fowler, Samantha Beth Italiano

The PERCS Outstanding Ethnography Award – Caroline Hundley Miller

Helen B. Rippy Art History Award – Kiley Ann Brandt

Edwina Graff Hughes Johnston Award in Art History – David Lawrence Turner

Martha Smith Award for Women’s and Gender Studies – Alanna Jean Bogle Vagianos, Lauren Elizabeth Clapp

GlaxoSmithKline Women in Science Scholar Award – Anna Elizabeth Lewis

Katherine DuPont Weymouth Scholarship – Cara Megan McClain

W.L. Monroe Christian Education and Personality Award – Grant Coleman Woody, Brenna Alexandria Humphries

Truitt Center Reconciliation Award – Mason Elliot Sklut

Ella Brunk Smith Award – Katherine Elizabeth Wise

Iris Holt McEwen Community Service Award – Yasmine Alexandra Arrington

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award – Laura Lee Sturm, William Ross Brummett, C.C. Cowan (staff)

Ward Family Learning in Action Award –  Amber Marie Schmiesing

John W. Barney Memorial Award – Thomason William Price

William Moseley Brown Leadership Award – Morgan Julia Gregg