Elon Law Review symposium to focus on alternative dispute resolution

The Elon Law Review hosts a program on Oct. 27, 2017, that will provide an update on recent case law and advisory opinions in mediation and arbitration.

Elon Law Review National Symposium
“Alternative Dispute Resolution”

Friday, October 27
8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. 
Elon University School of Law – Room 207
201 N. Greene Street
Greensboro, NC 27401

For more information, email lawreview@elon.edu.

Join us for a cutting-edge discussion on mediator ethics and standards across all areas and practices of law. Our symposium will provide an update on recent case law and advisory opinions in mediation and arbitration. It also will offer insights into the way clients make decisions and how a greater understanding of that process can be beneficial to attorneys.

The symposium counts toward 3.75 hours of CLE credit and 1 credit hour of CME credit at no cost to attendees. Lunch will be provided.

RSVP Required. Register Here.


8:30: Registration
9:20: Welcome & Introduction by Elon Law Dean Luke Bierman
9:30: Panel: “A Need to Update the Model Standards of Conduct for Mediators”
10:45: Break 
11:00: Panel: “Case Update on Mediation, Arbitration, Developments in ADR, and Collaborative Law
12:30: Lunch and Keynote Address by Professor Kristen Blankley at Nebraska College of Law and co-chair of the ABA Section of Dispute Resolution Subcommittee on Ethics 
2:15: Presentation: “Psychological Aspects of Decision Making in Negotiation & Mediation
3:30: Closing Remarks

Program subject to change.


Debra Berman
– Assistant Professor of Clinical Studies & Director of the Frank Evans Center for Conflict Resolution (South Texas College of Law – Houston)

Kristen Blankley
– Associate Profess of Law (Nebraska College of Law)
– Co-Chair of the ABA Section of Dispute Resolution Subcommittee on Ethics

Ramona Buck
– Commissioner – Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service (FMCS)
– Chair of the Federal government’s Interagency ADR Working Group (IADRWG) 

Susan Exon
– Professor of Law and Associate Dean for Faculty Development (University of La Verne College of Law)
– Member of the ABA Section of Dispute Resolution, Ethics Guidance Committee
– Member of the Civil Procedure Panel for the Legal Education, ADR, and Practical Problem-Solving Project
– Former co-chair of the Ethics Committee (2013)

Samuel Jackson
– Adjunct Professor (UNC School of Law) 
– Co-chair of the Committee on Mediator Ethical Guidance for the Dispute Resolution Section of the ABA 

Diane Pappayliou
– Attorney with Rountree Losee, LLP (Wilmington, N.C.)
– Elon Law Class of 2016, Editor in Chief of the Elon Law Review

John Sarratt
– Harris Sarratt & Hodges, LLP (Raleigh, N.C.)
– Adjunct Professor (Wake Forest School of Law)
– Served on the Board of Governors of the N.C. Bar Association, N.C. General Statutes Commission, and Chief Justices Commission on Professionalism

Nancy Welsh
– Professor of Law and Director of the Dispute Resolution Program (Texas A&M University School of Law)
– Chair of the ABA Section of Dispute Resolution (2016-2017)