Seven faculty members named 2018 Sustainability Scholars

Running strong in its 10th year, the program will aid yet another diverse group of faculty in integrating sustainability into new and existing courses across campus.

The following Elon University faculty members have been selected for inclusion in the 2018 Sustainability Faculty Scholars program:

Young Do Kim, Sport Management
Richard Blackmon, Engineering
Jen Dabrowski, Chemistry
Prudence Layne, English
Kathleen Stansberry, Communications
Sana Haq, Communications
Joyce Davis, Exercise Science

Faculty applied to the program because of their interest in incorporating or enhancing a focus on sustainable principles and practices in their courses. Throughout the spring semester, scholars will meet as a group, where they will be provided with relevant sustainability resources and pedagogies through a variety of unique opportunities such as speakers, workshops, field trips and article/book discussions. This year we are thrilled to have three first-year faculty members participating.

The program was developed by Professor Janet MacFall, director of the Center for Environmental Studies; Michael Strickland, lecturer in English; Pam Kiser, Watts/Thompson Professor, professor of Human Service Studies and Distinguished University Professor; and Peter Felten, assistant provost and executive director of the Center for Engaged Learning.

The program is facilitated by Samantha DiRosa, Sustainability Faculty Fellow and associate professor of art and environmental studies, with assistance from the Office of Sustainability.

Applications to be a Sustainability Faculty Scholar go out every fall. For more information about the program visit the webpage or contact Samantha DiRosa.