Academics: Sustainability Faculty Scholars

The  Sustainability Faculty Scholars program identifies, supports, and recognizes faculty who are interested in incorporating or enhancing a focus on sustainable principles and practices in their courses, and exploring a range of pedagogies to develop this theme. 

Participants are selected through an application process. Each participant identifies a course that he or she would like to modify to include a sustainability component, is provided with relevant sustainability resources and pedagogies, modifies the selected course accordingly and then teaches the course the next semester it is offered. 

Click here for the application form.  

The program was developed by Janet MacFall, Associate Professor of Environmental Studies and Biology and Director of the Center for Environmental Studies; Michael Strickland, Lecturer in English; Pam Kiser, Watts/Thompson Professor, Professor of Human Service Studies and Distinguished University Professor; and Peter Felten, Assistant Provost and Director of the Center for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning. 

The program has had participants from diverse disciplines including art, biology, business administration, business law, communications, computing sciences, engineering, English, exercise science, geography, health and human performance, history, leisure and sports management, physics and sociology.