2017 President's Report highlights Elon scholarship

Elon's annual celebration of intellectual inquiry and scholarship features the work of eight accomplished faculty scholars as well as eight students who are working with faculty mentors on undergraduate research.


A message from President Leo M. Lambert

The impressive scholarship featured in the 2017 President’s Report demonstrates the intellectual curiosity and creative thinking of Elon faculty and students, who are constantly striving to build a better world.

> Click here to access the 2017 President's Report

Faculty members profiled in this report are solving complex problems and forging new paths in their fields. For example, Elon’s teacher-scholars made new discoveries about how the brain forms and retrieves memories, used communication technology to preserve and revitalize endangered languages, and explored little-known rituals that challenge the common understanding of death and the afterlife in Hindu traditions.

Elon faculty form close mentoring relationships with students in and out of the classroom. Their scholarship informs their commitment to excellent teaching and encourages students to ask their own bold questions and pursue the answers through hands-on learning experiences on campus and around the world. A record 26 percent of the Class of 2017 collaborated with faculty mentors on research projects and nearly 250 students presented at the annual Spring Undergraduate Research Forum. This report highlights some examples of their work.

I am also happy to highlight milestones from the past year, including grants and awards, innovative new programs and recognitions of academic achievement.

The Elon community is filled with engaged learners who have an insatiable drive to make a difference in the world. Please join me in celebrating those who reach for higher levels of excellence in academia and beyond.

Leo M. Lambert

Faculty members featured in the 2017 President's Report

Amy Allocco, associate professor of religious studies
Jeff Carpenter, associate professor of education

Paula DiBiasio, associate professor of physical therapy education
Michael Fels, professor of art
Derek Lackaff, associate professor of communications
Robert Moorman, Frank S. Holt professor of business leadership and professor of organizationa behavior
Amy Overman, associate professor of psychology
Jennifer Uno, associate professor of biology