Faculty members selected to be 2018-19 Sustainability Scholars

Now in its 11th year, the program will aid yet another diverse group of faculty in integrating sustainability into academic courses across campus.

The following Elon University faculty members have been selected for inclusion in the 2018-19 Sustainability Faculty Scholars program:

Clockwise from top left, Jay O'Toole, Katie Baker, Aaron Sparks, Martin Fowler and Jonathan Su. Joe Green is not pictured. 
Jay O’Toole, Management and Entrepreneurship
Katie Baker, Education
Aaron Sparks, Political Science
Joe Green, Management and Entrepreneurship
Jonathan Su, Physics and Engineering
Martin Fowler, Philosophy and Environmental Studies

Faculty applied to the program because of their interest in incorporating or enhancing a focus on sustainable principles and practices in their courses. Throughout winter term and spring semester, scholars will meet as a group, where they will be provided with relevant sustainability resources and pedagogies through a variety of unique opportunities such as speakers, workshops, field trips and article/book discussions. 

The program was developed by Professor Janet MacFall, chair of the Department of Environmental Studies; Michael Strickland, lecturer in English and director of the Center for Environmental Studies; Pam Kiser, Watts/Thompson Professor, professor of human service studies and Distinguished University Professor; and Peter Felten, assistant provost and executive director of the Center for Engaged Learning.

The program is facilitated by Samantha DiRosa, Faculty Fellow for Sustainability and associate professor of art and environmental studies, with assistance from the Office of Sustainability.

Applications to be a Sustainability Faculty Scholar go out every fall. For more information about the program visit the webpage or contact Samantha DiRosa.