Mallory Poff ’23 awarded Phi Kappa Phi Fellowship

Poff is pursuing a master of science in mechanical engineering and material science at Duke University.

Mallory Poff ’23, a graduate of Elon’s B.S. in Engineering program from Naples, Florida, was recently awarded a Phi Kappa Phi Fellowship for post-graduate study.

Head shot of Mallory Poff inside Founders Hall
Mallory Poff ’23

Poff will pursue a master of science in mechanical engineering and material science at Duke University beginning this fall. Poff was one of 62 recipients nationwide to receive the Phi Kappa Phi Fellowship — which provides $8,500 scholarships for graduate programs — based on evidence of her graduate potential, undergraduate academic achievement, service and leadership, and career goals, among other qualities.

Poff plans to pursue a career in solar and renewable energy.

At Elon, she was an Honors Fellow and Lumen Scholar whose research project centered on constructing a solar-powered mobile cooling unit for use at Loy Farm. The unit allows farm staff to keep harvests at peak freshness in transport for use at Elon dining facilities and for community food kitchens. Poff was also deeply involved in campus life as drum major for the Fire of the Carolinas Marching Band and member of the percussion ensemble, president of the Elon Engineers club, a volunteer and service leader with her sorority, and as a tutor with Elon’s Learning Assistance Center.

Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. It inducts approximately 25,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni annually with chapters on more than 325 select institutions in the United States, its territories and the Philippines. The top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership.

Related Articles

Each year, Phi Kappa Phi allocates $649,000 to outstanding students for first-year graduate or professional study.

Elon’s Phi Kappa Phi chapter was established in 1995 and since has inducted hundreds of undergraduates, graduates, alumni, and faculty and staff to its roster.