About Our SchoolVisual Tour LinkFor Prospective StudentsOur CurriculumFaculty & StaffStudent Showcase LinkReal-World Link Alumni FriendsConnections NewsletterCommunications Home


Our Advisory Board
offers incredible support

We look to our Communications Advisory Board for both professional expertise and program support. Our students benefit enormously by having media professionals and corporate executives come to campus each semester to share their expertise in classes and with individual students. In fact, students tell us the Advisory Board visit is a highlight of the semester. In turn, our faculty benefits from their discussion of communication trends that may impact our curriculum, our internship program and the job market for our seniors. Additional program support comes in the form of gifts and development efforts. For example, the Advisory Board and other sources have raised more than a half-million dollars in gifts and pledges to support the School of Communications.

We thank our Advisory Board members for their generous support of our students and our program.

Communications Advisory Board Members

Don Bolden, editor emeritus of the Burlington (N.C.) Times-News, where he served as executive editor.

Kelly Carlton, creative director, Intralink Film Graphic Design, Los Angeles.

Joe Gleason, president for Americas - Northeast, Manning Selvage & Lee public relations firm in Washington, D.C.

Ellen Hartman
, president of worldwide public relations/communications firm Weber Shandwick's offices in Atlanta.

Angel Hawthorne
, director of development and original programming for Turner South in Atlanta.

Jim Hefner, vice president and general manager of WRAL-TV in Raleigh, N.C.

Tom Howe, director and general manager of WUNC-TV, a system including 11 analog and 11 digital public television stations.

M.J. Jacobsen, vice president for communications, National Geographic Society in Washington, D.C.

Roberto I. Jimenez, vice president of corporate communications and public affairs, Cox Enterprises Inc., Atlanta.

Robert Kennedy, executive vice president and co-chief operating officer for CSPAN, the public-affairs cable television network.

Mary Beth Marklein
, higher education reporter, USA Today, McLean, Va. Marklein has also been a Fulbright Fellow.

Reggie Murphy, Ph.D., director of research services for the newspaper division of Gannett in McLean, Va. Previously worked for TV research firm Frank N. Magid Associates.

Sunshine Overkamp
, a chief executive of Overkamp Overkamp-Smith. Previously vice president of the Council on Foundations in Washington, and senior vice president of the United Way of America.

Lee Rainie
, director of The Pew Internet & American Life Project, based in Washington, D.C. Previously managing editor of U.S. News & World Report.

Robin Saul, president and publisher of the Greensboro (N.C.) News & Record, owned by Landmark Communications.

Melanie Sill, executive editor and senior vice president for The News & Observer, Raleigh, N.C.

Mary Straub,
Elon University Trustee and Elon graduate.

Michael Vadini, founder and chief executive officer, TITAN Technology Partners, Charlotte, N.C.

Bill Warren, vice president of public affairs and community relations for Walt Disney World Co., Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Jill Neff Watson, guest booking for Cable News Network. Coordinates special CNN coverage of major news events.

Ken White, news director at Fox News Charlotte. Previously a TV news director in Shreveport, La.

Debora Wilson, chief operations officer, The Weather Channel and TWC Interactive in Atlanta.

Graham Woodlief, vice president, Media General Inc., and president of its Publishing Division, based in Richmond, Va.

Longtime board member Don Bolden, left, meets with students to discuss their research.

Advisory Board
Guest speakers
Naming opportunities
Alumni updates
Elon Career Center
School of Communications 
2850 Campus Box 
Elon, NC 27244-2010   (336) 278-5724 
E-mail: communications@elon.edu
Last Modified:  4/13/05
Copyright Elon University