Students honored with
awards, scholarships


The faculty and administrators of Elon's School of Communications hosted the institution's annual awards ceremony in McEwen Studio B May 5.

Twelve outstanding students were selected from among more than 800 communications and journalism majors to be honored for their outstanding contributions in and out of the classroom. Those honored meet the highest academic standards, have been active in on-campus media organizations and have achieved great success in challenging internships.

Outstanding Senior Awards

These four awards recognize outstanding personal and professional achievements by graduating seniors who have demonstrated through consistent performance extraordinary knowledge and ability in their areas of specialization, and have made significant contributions to the School of Communications and the major.

MATT BELANGER, Broadcast Communications Award. In addition to his outstanding work in the classroom, Matt, a School of Communications Fellow, was a leader at both the student newspaper, The Pendulum, and at Elon Student Television. He was Elon's first recipient of the D'Angelo Family Scholarship in Honor of Bill Leonard and is a previous winner of the Times-News scholarship. He is under contract to work as a reporter and as the 10 p.m. anchor at KELO-TV in Sioux Falls, S.D. The award was announced by Dr. Don Grady.

CAITLIN JACOBS, Corporate Communications Award. Caitlin, a standout student, completed several quality internships while at Elon, and produced an outstanding CD-ROM to market the School of Communications as her senior capstone project; the CD was shipped to hundreds of prospective Elon students. She was an active leader in PRSSA. The award presenter was Dr. Jessica Gisclair.

LAITH AL-MAJALI, Film Award. An active participant in broadcast and film activities at Elon, Laith has returned to his native country, Jordan, many times to do professional-level production work. His work has aired on the Travel Channel and he produced a special piece featuring Queen Noor in the summer of 2004. He has been instrumental in nearly every major video project during his years at Elon, haunting the edit bays of McEwen at all hours of the day. He is working on a Hollywood deal, and will move to California after commencement. The presenter was Professor Ray Johnson.

COLIN DONOHUE, Journalism Award. Colin was a leader at The Pendulum all four years at Elon, including work as sports editor, managing editor and editor-in-chief. He is a past recipient of the Times-News Award, the Student Communications Media Award and the Priestley Award. He worked part-time at the Burlington Times-News, and was an officer in the Society of Professional Journalists. He is heading to the University of Memphis, where he will serve a graduate assistantship as copy editor of the Newspaper Research Journal. The presenter was Dr. David Copeland.

The D'Angelo Family Scholarship in Honor of Bill Leonard

Presented to an outstanding rising senior in Broadcast Communication, the award was established by Drs. Lawrence and Dolores D'Angelo in honor of the late Bill Leonard, former president of CBS News. This year's winner is Scott Myrick, a Communications Fellow and three-year leader of ESTV's weekly news program. Myrick has devoted his time outside the classroom to developing the broadcast coverage of Elon community news. He has also worked at FOX 8 News in Greensboro-High Point. The presenter of this award was Dr. Brooke Barnett.

The Mary Ellen Priestley Award

Presented to the student majoring in Journalism whose work for newspapers or magazines has been of the most consistently high quality, the award is named for the late Dr. Mary Ellen Priestley, former Professor of English and Journalism at Elon College and adviser to The Pendulum during its first eight years. This year's winner is Jessica Patchett, current business manager and former news editor and editor for The Pendulum. The presenter of this award was Professor Janna Anderson. Earlier in the day, Patchett, a Communications Fellow, was honored with the university's overall Student Communications Media Award, awarded by the Media Board to the student who best serves the university as a leader in its student-media organizations. She will attend Princeton Theological Seminary in the fall.

The Mary Ellen Priestley Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to a female student who is a rising sophomore, junior, or senior majoring in print journalism and preparing for a career as a writer or editor for public-circulation newspapers and magazines. The scholarship was established by the late Dr. Priestley. This scholarship is awarded to Leanne Jernigan, a Communications Fellow and copy editor at The Pendulum who will be working at the Alamance News this summer. The presenter of this scholarship was Dr. Harlen Makemson.

The A.J. Fletcher Award

This award recognizes the achievements of an outstanding undergraduate corporate, broadcast or film major who reflects a wide-ranging interest within the field, has a GPA above 2.75, has demonstrated leadership in campus or personal life, and has been involved in some area of community service. This year's recipient is Communications Fellow Brandi Little. Brandi concentrated on research as an undergraduate, presenting the findings of her broadcast studies at SURF and NCUR and even at the Federal Communications Commission in Washington, D.C. She also participated in the Pew Internet & American Life Predictions Project. She has worked in several quality, research-oriented internships, including Elon's first with Nielsen. Dr. Connie Book announced the award; Little is studying in London, and was not at the ceremony.

James F. Hurley Legacy Scholarship

This endowed scholarship is named in memory of James F. Hurley Sr. and James F. Hurley Jr. and in honor of James F. Hurley III. All three were influential as publishers of The Salisbury (N.C.) Post. The scholarship is awarded to a junior, with preference given to communications students with priority to journalism majors, and it carries through to the student's senior year if the student remains at Elon for four years. The recipients are Ashley Feibish, editor and former co-news editor of The Pendulum, and Neeley House, an outstanding student. The presenter of these scholarships was Dr. David Copeland.

Times-News Scholarship

This scholarship will provide financial aid for a participant in journalism at Elon University who has demonstrated leadership, scholarship, service to the community and exemplary character traits. This scholarship is awarded to Ashley Busch and Katherine Hart. The presenter of these scholarships was Dr. Anthony Hatcher.




Share your news and items of interest. To contact us, e-mail:
School of Communications 
2850 Campus Box 
Elon, NC 27244-2010   (336) 278-5724 
Last Modified:  5/06/05
Copyright Elon University