E-Net News

Elon Communications students, faculty cover international event

An Elon School of Communications team is an integral part of the coverage of this year’s ACM – International Collegiate Programming Contest in Warsaw, Poland.

(l-r) Max Negin, Scarlett Fakhar, Bettina Johnson, Chris Kirkham and Amanda Sturgill

The team, led by Communications associate professor Amanda Sturgill and assistant professor Max Negin, also includes iMedia graduate student Chris Kirkham, broadcast journalism junior Scarlett Fakhar and iMedia and Elon School of Communications graduate Bettina Johnson. They are working as part of a multimedia team that is telling the story of the contest through video, photos, text, a live broadcast of the contest and social media.

The ACM-ICPC brings 336 of the world’s best computer science students, coming from six continents, together in 3-member teams to work on a set of extremely difficult computer programming problems. This year’s contenders bested more than 25,000 other college students to win their place at this year’s event. This year, Bronislaw Komorowski, the president of Poland, will welcome the teams. You can see the team coverage at http://icpcdigital.com.

Colin Donohue,
5/17/2012 10:54 AM