The students in the photo are from the left: Danielle Simmons,
Melanie Nadeau, Elizabeth Vanderwerker, Julia McIlrevery,
Kristin Tremoulis, and Dwayne Waite.

PRSSA Chapter Wins Awards
at National Conference

 The Elon Chapter of the Public Relations Student Society of America received two awards at the November 10 – 14 National Conference in Salt Lake City, Utah. The Chapter received the Pace Setter Award and the National President’s Citation Award.
“This accomplishment reflects the dedication of our student members,” said Dr. Jessica Gisclair, faculty advisor. “The Elon Chapter has competed the past two years at nationals against more than 200 student chapters and each year we have received awards.”
The Pace Setter award is given to the chapter who presents themselves professionally, personably and with enthusiasm about public relations and their university while at the conference. Chapter presidents from around the country chose the Elon Chapter over more than 30 chapters.
Elon Chapter President Dwayne Waite was the recipient of the 2006 National President’s Citation award. Citations are given to members who go beyond expected service to PRSSA by contributing nationally or to local chapters in a meritorious way.
In addition to the two national chapter awards, five student members of the Elon Chapter presented a chapter development session at the national conference titled, “Etiquette: It’s Official”. The presentation illustrated the most commonly committed etiquette blunders during a professional dinner interview.
Elon students who attended the national conference were Carolyn Fiala, Robert Hoppey, Melanie Nadeau, Julia McIlrevery, Danielle Simmons, Kristin Tremoulis, Elizabeth Vanderwerker, and Dwayne Waite.
PRSSA is a pre-professional organization for students interested in careers in public relations. The Elon University Chapter of PRSSA was established in the fall of 2003 and has grown to become one of the top 25 largest chapters in the country.


Share your news and items of interest. To contact us, e-mail:

School of Communications 
2850 Campus Box 
Elon, NC 27244-2010   (336) 278-5724 
Copyright © Elon University