Four Join School's Faculty

From bottom left, Dale Harrison, Ken Calhoun and Sharon Eisner.

Four new faculty members with strong and varied professional and educational backgrounds will be joining the ranks in the School of Communications starting in Fall 2007. The four additions brings the school’s number of full-time faculty to 35.

New faculty members, in alphabetical order, are:

Kenneth Calhoun , a new media professional whose background includes interactive television, corporate and entertainment industry multimedia production as well as creative writing, most recently served as Creative Director for Center Line Productions, where he provided high-end digital productions to clients like IBM, Sony Ericsson and UNC. His short stories have appeared in numerous literary publications and, in 2006, he won the Italo Calvino Prize for Fabulist Fiction. He holds an MFA from Emerson College and most recently taught Digital Storytelling at Duke University.

Sharon Eisner obtained her masters at UNC-Chapel Hill in Interpersonal Communication and Performance Studies, and she has taught Communication Studies courses in North Carolina, Texas and Israel during the last 11 years. A career educator, Sharon has worked extensively with adults, adolescents and children, and she has a long-standing research interest in developing self-coaching techniques for adults with ADD. Outside the classroom, she is a nationally certified massage therapist and an amateur quilter.

W. Dale Harrison has had his byline appear in newspapers across the country, including USA Today, and he has been an analyst of Iraq War coverage for BBC Radio’s Overnight. At Youngstown State University, he produced and hosted a weekly radio show for NPR affiliate WYSU and hosted programs for Ohio Public Television. Harrison served as department chairman of communication and journalism at Auburn University from 2002 to 2006. He was president of the Alabama Center for Open Government and served on its Board of Directors from 2003 to 2007. He joins Elon as assistant director for the Sunshine Center of the North Carolina Open Government Coalition. Harrison earned his master’s from the University of Tennessee and his doctorate from the University of Georgia, where he worked with the Peabody Awards.

Melody van Lidth de Jeude is a Ph.D. candidate of philosophy at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill. Previous to joining Elon’s faculty, van Lidth de Jeude has taught at schools such as Duke University, UNC, Southern Illinois and Heinrich Heine Universitat. She earned her master’s degree in speech communication at Southern Illinois. She has received the Robert B. Hawkins Award for Excellence in Speech Communication Scholarship and the Stafford House (Canterbury) European Tour Guide Award. She will be teaching Public Speaking at Elon.


Share your news and items of interest. To contact us, e-mail:

School of Communications 
2850 Campus Box 
Elon, NC 27244-2010   (336) 278-5724 
Copyright © Elon University