2015-2016 Performing Arts Faculty

Chair and Program Coordinators

Fred Rubeck, Chair of Department of Performing Arts and Coordinator of Acting Program
M.F.A. University of Nebraska-Lincoln
rubeck@elon.edu
278-5600

Professor Rubeck directs professionally and for the Performing Arts Department Season. He teaches analysis, directing, and senior seminar courses. Read his complete biography. 

 

Lauren Kearns, Associate Chair of Department of Performing Arts and Coordinator of BFA and BS Dance Program
M.F.A. University of California, Los Angeles
lkearns@elon.edu
278-5592

Professor Kearns choreographs professionally for her dance company, The Kearns Dance Project and for the Elon Dance Company. She teaches choreography I-II, somatic theories I-II, modern III-VI, and senior seminar courses. Read her complete biography.
 

James Marchant, Coordinator of Arts Administration Program
Ph.D. Ohio State University
jmarchant3@elon.edu
278-5622

Dr. Marchant has worked extensively in the nonprofit sector, both within the arts and social justice. He teaches the introductory course in Arts Administration, Approaches to Arts Administration, Legal Aspects of Arts & Entertainment, Senior Seminar and global studies. Read his biography.


Catherine McNeela, Coordinator of Music Theatre Program
The University of Michigan
mcneela@elon.edu
278-5696

Professor McNeela performs professionally and directs musicals for the Performing Arts Department Season. She teaches musical theatre performance, voice, and senior seminar. Read her complete biography.
 

Susanne Shawyer, Coordinator of Drama and Theatre Studies Program
Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin
sshawyer@elon.edu
278-5759

Dr. Shawyer is a theatre historian and dramaturg who researches the history of activist theatre. She teaches drama and theatre studies as well as theatre history courses. Read her complete biography.

 

Michael Smith, Coordinator of the Technical Theatre and Design Program
M.F.A. Florida State University
msmith73@elon.edu
278-6032

Professor Smith is a professional sound designer and theatrical consultant. He is also the Sound Designer for the Performing Arts Department Season. He teaches courses in sound design. Read his complete biography.

 

Full-Time Faculty

Renay Aumiller
M.F.A. University of Illinois
raumiller@elon.edu
278-5758

Professor Renay Aumiller teaches Modern Dance Technique III-VI, Choreography, Contact Improvisation, Dance Ensemble, Senior Seminar, and Yoga. She choreographs professionally with her company, RAD | Renay Aumiller Dances, and for members of the Elon Dance Program. Read her complete biography.
 

Jason Aryeh
M.F.A. SUNY, The College at Brockport
jaryeh@elon.edu
278-5608

Professor Aryeh choreographs for the Elon Dance Company and for his company, Africa Alive Dance Company, which resides in Ghana. He teaches Modern, World Dance, special topics in Dance and Global Studies courses. Read his complete biography.
 

Polly Cornelius
pcornelius@elon.edu
278-5688

 

Visit the Department of Music Web site to read her biography. 

 

Lynne Kurdziel Formato
M.A.H. University of Buffalo
lformato@elon.edu
278-6691

Professor Formato directs and choreographs professionally and for the Performing Arts Season. She teaches dance for the musical stage I-IV, jazz I-IV, music theatre literature, Fosse, and special topics courses. Read her complete biography.
 

Karl Green
M.F.A. Virginia Commonwealth University
kgreen11@elon.edu
278-6001

Professor Green Joins Elon's Performing Arts Department from Virginia Commonwealth University. His research Interests include theatre history and theatre costume technology. Read his complete biography.

 

Natalie Taylor Hart
M.F.A. Ohio University
nhart2@elon.edu
278-5694

Professor Hart designs scenery professionally and for the Performing Arts Department Season. She teaches Technical Production, Scenic Design and Scenic Painting. Read her complete biography.

 

Hallie Coppedge Hogan
D.M.A. University of Illinois
hhogan@elon.edu
278-5692

Dr. Hogan is a professional performer and also teaches vocal studies, opera workshop, diction, and vocal pedagogy courses. Visit the Department of Music Web site to read her complete biography.

 

Dr. Gerald Knight
Ph.D. Florida State University
gknight2@elon.edu
278-5244

Dr. Knight directs the University Chorale and serves as Associate Director of Choral Activities. He teaches conducting, voice, and theory courses. Visit the Department of Music Web site to read his complete biography.


Brian Kremer
M.M. Manhattan School of Music
bkremer@elon.edu

Professor Kremer is a professional singer, actor and voice instructor. He teaches courses in voice and specializes in contemporary singing and performance styles including music theatre, rock, pop, country and R&B. Read his complete biography.

 

Jen Guy Metcalf
M.F.A. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
jguy@elon.edu
278-5672

Professor Metcalf choreographs professionally for the Elon Dance Company and for her company TERRANOVA Dance Theatre. She teaches Ballet, Pointe, Dance for the Camera, Special Topics in Dance and Senior Seminar.  Read her complete biography.
 

Kevin Otos
M.F.A. Florida State University
kotos@elon.edu
278-5591

Professor Otos performs and directs professionally and directs for the Performing Arts Season. He teaches acting, special topics, and movement. Read his complete biography.

 

Linda Sabo
M.A. Iowa State University; M.F.A. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
lsabo@elon.edu
278-5720

Linda Sabo has more than 30 years of experience as a professional performer, choreographer and teacher. She teaches dance and music theatre courses and is a director/choreographer for the music theatre program. Read her complete biography.
 

Kim Shively
M.F.A. Florida State University/Asolo Conservatory
kshively@elon.edu
278-6866

Professor Shively is a professional actor and coach. She teaches Acting, Voice and Movement and Special Topics. Read her biography.

 

Jack Smith
M.F.A. Southern Illinois University
jsmith40@elon.edu
278-6298

Professor Smith designs costumes professionally and for the Performing Arts Department Season. He teaches costume design, introduction to theatre, costume construction, theatre history & literature, theatrical make-up and global studies. Read his complete biography.
 

Kirby Wahl
M.F.A. The University of Arizona
kwahl@elon.edu
278-5684

Professor Wahl is a professional actor and directs for the Performing Arts Department Season. He teaches courses in acting, voice & speech, movement for actors, and special topics. Read his complete biography.


Bill Webb
M.F.A. The North Carolina School of the Arts
webbbill@elon.edu
278-5717

Professor Webb is the Production Manager and Lighting Designer for the Performing Arts Department. He teaches Theatre Production and Lighting Design. Read his complete biography.

 

Jane Wellford
M.F.A. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
wellford@elon.edu
278-5693

Professor Wellford choreographs for the Elon Dance Company and for her professional liturgical company. She teaches dance improvisation I, dance history I-II, sacred dance, arts in the schools, and special topics courses. Read her complete biography.
 

Part-Time Faculty

Suzanne Beahrs (Dance)
M.F.A. NYU Tisch School of the Arts
sbeahrs@elon.edu
278-5242

 


 

Lisbeth 'Beth' Carter (Voice)
lcarter@elon.edu
278-5528
Read her biography. 




 

Julie Celona-VanGorden
jcelona@elon.edu
278-5507
Visit the Department of Music Web site to read her biography. 

 


 

Michael Flannery (Acting)
M.F.A. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
mflannery@elon.edu
278-5242
Read his biography.



 

April Hill
M.M. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
ahill13@elon.edu
278-5816
Read her biography.



 

Chip Johnson (Acting)
M.F.A. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
cjohnson4@elon.edu
278-5242
Read his biography. 



 

Jeff Jones (Combat)
M.F.A. Florida State School of Theatre
jjones87@elon.edu
278-5242

 


 

Natalie Marrone (Dance)
M.F.A. Ohio State University
nmarrone@elon.edu
278-5242

 




Gene Medler (Dance)
gmedler@elon.edu
278-5242
Read his Biography 

 




Mitchel Sommers (Theatre Arts)
M.F.A. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
msommers@elon.edu
278-5242

Read his biography.


 

Brianna Taylor (Dance)
M.F.A. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
btaylor13@elon.edu
278-5242

 


 

Justin Tornow (Dance)
M.F.A. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
jtornow@elon.edu
278-5242

 


 

Sara Tourek (Dance)
M.F.A. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
stourek@elon.edu
278-5242
 

 



Jeffery West (Acting)
M.F.A. University of Virginia
jwest6@elon.edu
278-5860
Read his biography.



 

Nina Wheeler (Music Theatre)
nwheeler@elon.edu
278-5242
 



  

Staff

Ethan Anderson (Music Director and Conductor)
B.F.A. Elon University
eanderson@elon.edu

Ethan Anderson music directs and conducts professionally and for the Performing Arts Department season. He is a proud alumnus of Elon University. Read his complete biography.




Sandy Blocker (Staff Accompanist)
sblocker@elon.edu
278-5242

 

 

 

Haidee Dollak (Staff Accompanist)
B.M.E. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
hdollak@elon.edu
278-5645

 


 

Tyson Hankins (Staff Accompanist)
M.M. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
thankins@elon.edu
278-5707

Tyson Hankins is one of the full-time staff accompanists for Music & Performing Arts, playing for shows, master classes, voice lessons, auditions, rehearsals and classes with both departments. Read his complete biography.
 

Kimberly Rippy
Program Assistant and Auditions Coordinator
B.A. University of South Carolina
krippy@elon.edu
278-5600

Ms. Rippy is the Auditions Coordinator for the Performing Arts Department. Please contact her to receive audition information and application for the B.F.A. Acting, Dance, and Musical Theatre Programs. Please contact her to set up an interview for the B.A. Technical Theatre and Design Program.