Elon University Home

2012-2013 Performing Arts Faculty

Chair and Program Coordinators

Fred Rubeck, Chair of Department of Performing Arts and Coordinator of Acting Program
M.F.A. University of Nebraska-Lincoln
rubeck@elon.edu
278-5600

Professor Rubeck directs professionally and for the Performing Arts Department Season. He teaches analysis, directing, and senior seminar courses. Read his complete biography. 

 

Lauren Kearns, Coordinator of BFA and BS Dance Program
M.F.A. University of California, Los Angeles
lkearns@elon.edu
278-5592

Professor Kearns choreographs professionally and for the Elon Dance Company. She teaches choreography, somatic theories, and senior seminar courses. Read her complete biography.

 

Catherine McNeela, Coordinator of Music Theatre Program
The University of Michigan
mcneela@elon.edu
278-5696

Professor McNeela performs professionally and directs musicals for the Performing Arts Department Season. She teaches musical theatre performance, voice, and senior seminar. Read her complete biography.

 

Kevin Otos, Coordinator of Theatre Studies Program
M.F.A. Florida State University
kotos@elon.edu
278-5591

Professor Otos performs and directs professionally and directs for the Performing Arts Department Season. He teaches acting, special topics, and global studies courses. Read his complete biography.

 

Michael Smith, Coordinator of the Technical Theatre and Design Program
M.F.A. Florida State University
msmith73@elon.edu
278-6032

Professor Smith is a professional sound designer and theatrical consultant. He is also the Sound Designer for the Performing Arts Department Season. He teaches courses in sound design. Read his complete biography.

 

Full-Time Faculty

Jason Aryeh
M.F.A. SUNY, The College at Brockport
jaryeh@elon.edu
278-5608

Professor Aryeh choreographs for the Elon Dance Company and for his company, Africa Alive Dance Company, which resides in Ghana. He teaches Modern, World Dance, special topics in Dance and Global Studies courses. Read his complete biography.

 

Polly Cornelius (Voice, Diction, Vocal Pedagogy)
pcornelius@elon.edu
278-5688

 

Visit the Department of Music Web site to read her biography. 


 

Lynne Kurdziel Formato
M.A.H. University of Buffalo
lformato@elon.edu
278-6691

Professor Formato directs and choreographs professionally and for the Performing Arts Season. She teaches dance for the musical stage I-IV, jazz I-IV, music theatre literature, Fosse, and special topics courses. Read her complete biography.

 

Karl Green
M.F.A. Virginia Commonwealth University
kgreen11@elon.edu
278-6001


Professor Green Joins Elon's Performing Arts Department from Virginia Commonwealth University. His research Interests include theatre history and theatre costume technology. Read his complete biography.

 

Natalie Taylor Hart
M.F.A. Ohio University
nhart2@elon.edu
278-5694

Professor Hart designs scenery professionally and for the Performing Arts Department Season. She teaches Technical Production, Scenic Design and Scenic Painting. Read her complete biography.

 

April Hill
M.M. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
ahill13@elon.edu
278-5816

Professor Hill specializes in teaching healthy vocal techniques and styles for Music Theatre singers.  She teaches applied lessons, Contemporary Vocal Workshop, and Singing for the Actor. Read her complete biography.

 

Hallie Coppedge Hogan
D.M.A. University of Illinois
hhogan@elon.edu
278-5692

Dr. Hogan is a professional performer and also teaches vocal studies, opera workshop, diction, and vocal pedagogy courses. Visit the Department of Music Web site to read her complete biography.

 

Dr. Gerald Knight
Ph.D. Florida State University
gknight2@elon.edu
278-5244

Dr. Knight directs the University Chorale and serves as Associate Director of Choral Activities. He teaches conducting, voice, and theory courses. Visit the Department of Music Web site to read his complete biography.

 

Jen Guy Metcalf (Dance)
M.F.A. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
jguy@elon.edu
278-5242

Professor Metcalf choreographs professionally for the Elon Dance Company and for her company TERRANOVA Dance Theatre. She teaches ballet, pointe, special topics in dance, choreography and global studies courses.  Read her complete biography.

 

Linda Sabo
M.A. Iowa State University
lsabo@elon.edu
278-5720

Professor Sabo is directs and choreographs for the Performing Arts Department Season. She teaches dance for the musical stage I, show tap I-II, musical theatre history, and special topics courses. Read her complete biography.

 

Jack Smith
M.F.A. Southern Illinois University
jsmith40@elon.edu
278-6298

Professor Smith designs costumes professionally and for the Performing Arts Department Season. He teaches costume design, introduction to theatre, costume construction, theatre history and literature, theatrical make-up, and global studies courses. Read his complete biography.

 

TJ Spensieri
M.F.A. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
tspensieri@elon.edu
278-6512

Professor Spensieri is the professional Technical Director for the Performing Arts Department. He teaches Technical Production, Theater Workshop, and Global Studies courses. Read his complete biography.

 

Kirby Wahl
M.F.A. The University of Arizona
kwahl@elon.edu
278-5684

Professor Wahl is a professional actor and directs for the Performing Arts Department Season. He teaches courses in acting, voice & speech, movement for actors, and special topics. Read his complete biography.

 


Bill Webb
M.F.A. The North Carolina School of the Arts
webbbill@elon.edu
278-5717

Professor Webb is the Production Manager and Lighting Designer for the Performing Arts Department. He teaches Theatre Production and Lighting Design. Read his complete biography.

 

Jane Wellford
M.F.A. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
wellford@elon.edu
278-5693

Professor Wellford choreographs for the Elon Dance Company and for her professional liturgical company. She teaches dance improvisation I, dance history I-II, sacred dance, arts in the schools, and special topics courses. Read her complete biography.
 

Part-time Faculty

Renay Aumiller (Ballet, Jazz, Modern)
M.F.A. University of Illinois
raumiller@elon.edu
278-5242

 


 

Lisbeth 'Beth' Carter (Voice)
lcarter@elon.edu
278-5528



Read her biography. 

 

Julie Celona VanGorden
278-5507
jcelona@elon.edu

Visit the Department of Music Web site to read her biography. 

 

 

Amanda Diorio
M.F.A. The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
adiorio@elon.edu
(336) 278-5242


Diorio is a recent graduate and teaching assistant at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. Her research interests inlcude dance and how it expresses culture. Read her complete biography.
 

Michael Flannery (Acting)
278-5242
mflannery@elon.edu

Read his biography. 



 

Tim Hill (Voice)
M.A. University of Iowa
278-5509
thill12@elon.edu

Read his biography. 

 

Rebecca Hutchins (Modern Dance)
278-5242
rhutchins@elon.edu

Read her biography. 

 

 

Chip Johnson (Acting)
278-5242
cjohnson4@elon.edu

Read his biography. 

 

 

Sandy Blocker (Staff Accompanist)
278-5242
 

 

 

 

Natalie Marrone (Dance)
M.F.A. Ohio State University
nmarrone@elon.edu
278-5242

 

 


Gene Medler (Tap)
278-5242
gmedler@elon.edu

Biography 

 

 

Elizabeth Patterson (Theatre Arts)
278-5242
epatterson4@elon.edu

 

 

 

Ann Roberts (Yoga)
278-5242
arobers6@elon.edu

Read her biography.
 

 


Mitchel Sommers (Theatre Arts)
278-5242
msommers@elon.edu

Read his biography.

 

 

Sara Tourek (Ballet, Jazz, Modern)
M.F.A. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
stourek@elon.edu
278-5242
 

 



Jeffery West (Acting)
278-5860
jwest6@elon.edu

Read his biography.


 

Nina Wheeler (Jazz)
278-5242
nwheeler@elon.edu

Read her biography. 



  

Full-Time Staff

Haidee Dollak
Staff Accompanist
B.M.E. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
hdollak@elon.edu
278-5645

 

 

Tyson Hankins 
Staff Accompanist
thankins@elon.edu
278-5707
 

 

 

Sam Moryoussef
Assistant Technical Director
B.F.A. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
smoryoussef@elon.edu
278-5718

 

 

Kimberly Rippy
Program Assistant and Auditions Coordinator
B.A. University of South Carolina
krippy@elon.edu
278-5600

Ms. Rippy is the Auditions Coordinator for the Performing Arts Department. Please contact her to receive audition information and application for the B.F.A. Acting, Dance, and Musical Theatre Programs. Please contact her to set up an interview for the B.A. Technical Theatre and Design Program.