Elon Alumni Association

Distinguished Service to Elon Award

This award was not given in 2012.

2011 recipients

Amy Thomas Hendrickson '69 and Jay A. Hendrickson '71

Amy and Jay Hendrickson, loyal alumni with deep family roots in Elon University, have provided transformative support to Elon and its athletics programs for the past two decades. Both have served in important leadership roles for Elon, including Jay's service as a university trustee since 2008 and Amy's service as a former chairperson of the Phoenix Club Advisory Board. They have made generous annual gifts to the Phoenix Club and endowed the James A. and Amy T. Hendrickson Engineering Scholarship, which has attracted some of the nation's brightest students to Elon's dual-degree engineering program. Most recently, Amy and Jay made a major gift to the Ever Elon Campaign that funded the Horace J. Hendrickson Football Center in honor of Jay's father, who built an illustrious career as Elon's football coach in the 1930s and '40s. The state-of-the-art facility already has proven to be an invaluable asset to the Phoenix football program's training and recruitment efforts.

Dorothy S. Walker and Zachary T. Walker III '60

For more than a quarter-century, Zac and Dot Walker have stood among Elon's most faithful benefactors. They have endowed three scholarships for education majors and student-athletes, and also have supported numerous other important university initiatives, including the King Hussein Scholarship, Rhodes Stadium and the Ernest A. Koury, Sr. Business Center. Recently, Zac, a university trustee, and Dot made a major gift to support the construction of Alumni Field House. The university named two significant locations, the Walker Room and Terrace (a showplace space on the building's second floor overlooking Rhodes Stadium) and Zac Walker Drive (the roadway leading to the building) in the Field House to honor the Walkers' gift and the family's historical links to Elon. Zac's father, Zachary T. Walker, Jr. '30, was an Elon football star, and his uncle, D.C. "Peahead" Walker, ranks among Elon's all-time great football coaches.

Past recipients

1985 Burlington Industries
1987 Martha & Spencer Love Foundation
1991 Francis Asbury Palmer Fund
1992 The A.J. Fletcher Foundation
1997 Virginia Shipman Wilburn '72
1997 Raleigh D. Ellis, Jr. '52
1998 Nell Mann Snyder '47
1999 Henry N. Dorris '57
2001 Alamance Regional Medical Center
2002 Lettie Pate Whitehead Foundation
2005 Shelly Skeens Hazel '78
2007 John G. Truitt, Jr. '53

2009 W. Campbell "Cam" Tims '00