Elon Alumni Association

Top 10 Under 10 Alumni Awards

The Top 10 Under 10 Alumni Awards honor outstanding alumni of the past 10 years (2007-2016) who have achieved major professional success, acted as difference makers in their local communities, and served Elon as partners, advocates and investors. The nomination process for the 2017 class of Top 10 Under 10 award winners has now concluded, and award recipients will be announced soon. These recipients will be honored at a ceremony on campus on April 1, 2017. 

The 2016 Top 10 Under 10 Alumni Award winners were honored during a ceremony April 2, 2016, in McKinnon Hall in Moseley Center:

They are:

Tyler Brandt ’06, real estate specialist, Murphy Oil USA
A business administration graduate, Brandt is one of six real estate representatives driving the Fortune 200 Company’s land acquisitions and site selections across the east coast.

Justine Davis ’08, doctorate student and Ford Fellow, University of California, Berkeley
An international studies graduate, Davis is currently pursuing her doctorate in comparative politics and political behavior and previously served as a special adviser in the Ministry of National Education in Cote d’lvoire in West Africa as a J. William Fulbright – Hillary Rodham Clinton Fellow.

Clint Irwin ’11, professional soccer player, Toronto FC
A political science graduate, Irwin is a Major League Soccer player for the Toronto FC. Prior to joining that team, he was the starting goalkeeper for the Colorado Rapids and the recipient of the 2015 Rapids’ Fan Favorite award.

Adam Kaplan ’12, Broadway actor
A music theatre graduate, Kaplan made his Broadway debut in Disney’s “Newsies!” and is now performing the role of Charlie Price in the first Broadway National Tour of “Kinky Boots.”

Hallie Kilmer ’09, vice president of human capital, Red Ventures
A communications graduate, Kilmer leads company-wide talent acquisition initiatives and has been a key driver of Red Ventures’ exponential growth and international expansion.

Amanda Brown Marusiak ’10, epidemiologist and infectious disease control program coordinator, ExxonMobil Corporation
A mathematics graduate, Marusiak develops and executes preparedness and response plans for infectious disease outbreaks that threaten company operations in her role as the primary infectious disease control contact liaison for medical staff in the Asia-Pacific region.

Kendra Nickel-Nguy ’08, associate attorney, K&L Gates
A communications graduate, Nickel-Nguy is a founding board member of AWAKE: Alliance of Women Achieving Knowledge and Excellence, in addition to her successful career as an attorney.

Mitch Pittman ’09, reporter, KOMO News Seattle
A communications graduate, Pittman is a three-time Upper Midwest Regional Emmy Award winner for his work as a television reporter.

Garrett Turner ’08, vice president of global strategy, Liberty Port, LLC
An English graduate, Turner works in sales and marketing for Liberty Port, an international IT and telecommunications distribution and consulting company.

Parker Turner ’06, president, Liberty Port, LLC
A political science graduate, Turner oversees Liberty Port in addition to Roundtree Valley Enterprises, a commercial/residential real estate investment firm that he founded in 2013.

View additional past recipients here.