Writing Contests

Fall 2017

Multimodal Writing Competition Fall 2017

In Fall 2017, the Center for Writing Excellence ran its inaugural Multimodal Writing Competition. Projects were submitted from across campus in five categories: the School of Communication, a Graduate Program, the School of Arts and Sciences, the School of Business, and Student Life. Individuals and groups of students submitted posters, webtexts, podcasts, info graphics, interactive media, journalism, and other forms of multimodal composition.

The winners and runners-up were announced in February 2018 at an award ceremony in the Center for Writing Excellence in Belk Library. Individual winners received an iPad; group entries received gift cards of similar value. Runners-up also received a gift card.

School of Communication winners: Maritza Gonzalez, Juliana Walker, Heather Munro, Zachary Hrinuk and Matthew Williamson. Runners up: Kayla Hoey, Sal Buffa, Nicole Sodano, Miles Garrett and Ally Feinsot. 

The winners and runners up completed their projects in COM 450: Multimedia Journalism.

Graduate Program winner: Sarah Donahue; runner up: Kelsey Lane. The winner and runner up completed their projects in the Interactive Media Graduate Program.

School of Arts and Sciences winner: Mackenzie Clarken; runner up: Emily Wood. The winner completed their project in ART 460: Advanced Altered Imaging; the runner up completed their project in ENG212 Multimedia Rhetorics.

School of Business winners: Nicole Bunder, Caroline McLaughlin, Alaina Fennell and Campbell Wentworth-Ping. They completed their project in MKT413.

Student Life winner: Kayla Hoey. The winner completed their project in Student Life ENN.

COR winners: AJ Genovesi, Molly Jenks, Caroline Mansfield, Kristiana Ringer and Jacob Whyte; runner up: Ashley Billie. 


Spring 2017

CWE/Writing Center Fellows Award

We’re pleased to congratulate the winners of the “CWE/Writing Center Fellows Award.” These students won a $25 Amazon gift card for their professor-selected “Best Student Writing Project”! 

  • Ryan Cranston’s “Renovating Trinity Christian School’s Gymnasium,” Prof. Cara McFadden, SEM 226A

  • Ian Kunsey’s “Venue Management Plan: North Carolina Football Club,” Prof. Cara McFadden, SEM 226A

  • Natalie Berman’s “Change of Nationalism in Europe Throughout the Late Eighteenth and Twentieth Century,” Prof. Mike Carignan, HST 112

  • Andrew Lilley’s “Essay #3: Rewrite,” Prof. Mike Carignan, HST 112

  • Alex Langs  Lean Accounting Novel Memo,” Prof. Paula Weller, ACC 336A 

  • Anna Paluzzi’s “Lean Accounting Novel Memo,” Prof. Paula Weller, ACC 336A