Alumni Grants for Research, Teaching, and Study Abroad

Alumni and friends of the department have contributed generously to the department and have enabled us to offer tangible support for student and faculty scholarship, broadly construed.  We love to fund creative intellectual endeavors of all kinds! In honor of alumni, we are pleased to offer grants of up to $1,000 to support research, teaching, and (in certain cases) study abroad. 2023-24 Alumni Grant Application

.*If you have problems accessing links please check your pop-up blockers.

Please note: Most of the scholarships described below are endowed scholarships. The criteria are established by the people who generously chose to donate the money for them. The specific amount of each scholarship depends on the endowment fund, but most are in the range of $1,000 to $2,000. 2024-25 Scholarship Application

History Awards and Scholarships

History and Business Award

Generous alumni have sponsored an award for rising juniors or seniors who are pursuing a double major in history and business (any sub-discipline). Applicants must have a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or above, have already declared both majors, and have completed or be enrolled in HST 301 (Research Methods). The award is renewable for one additional year. Applicants must submit a short essay addressing why they think being a double major is beneficial and how it will contribute to their career and future plans. Essay required.

Philip Vance Cates Memorial Scholarship

To honor Mrs. Vance Cates, this scholarship is to be awarded to a rising senior who is a member of Phi Alpha Theta or Pi Gamma Mu and who is recommended by the History department. The student must be from North Carolina.

Watterson-Troxler History Scholarship

In honor of Mr. and Mrs. G. Shail Troxler and Mr. and Mrs. Eugene P. Watterson, this scholarship is to be awarded to an outstanding History major (can be any year). The primary criterion is academic achievement; however, when the departmental faculty must choose a recipient from equally outstanding students, financial need should be the next criteria. It is renewable for up to a total of 4 years if the recipient maintains a 3.2 GPA and continues satisfactory progress toward completion of the major.

Troxler-Watterson Endowed History Scholarship

Established by Dr. George Troxler and Dr. Carole Troxler to provide financial assistance to a History major. To be awarded to a History major by the departmental faculty. Students from any year may apply, but the scholarship is part of the Powell challenge, which means recipients must be from North Carolina, and that preference goes to students from Alamance County, then piedmont North Carolina, then the state in general.

William H. and Kathryn M. Duncan Scholarship

In memory of William H. Duncan, Sr., this scholarship is awarded to a rising sophomore History major who has financial need and is renewable for two years upon maintaining 3.0 GPA and recommendation of the department.

Smith-Midgette Endowed Scholarship for International Study/Travel

Provides financial assistance for one or more students to study abroad and shall be awarded upon the recommendation of the department to a student who has shown solid academic performance and has demonstrated financial need. Students must be North Carolina residents, with preference to Alamance County residents. Essay required.

Richard Jarrett Endowed Scholarship in History

The recipient of the Richard Jarrett Endowed Scholarship must be a North Carolina resident; first preference will be given to students from Alamance County. The recipient must also be a history major.

Geography Awards and Scholarships

Heidi Glaesel Frontani Memorial Study Abroad Essay Contest

Is given in memory of Heidi Frontani, Professor of Geography, onetime chair of the Department of History and Geography, pioneering leader of the Ghana Periclean cohort, and scholar and advocate for the peoples of Africa. Provides $1,000 to help defray the cost of studying abroad.  Eligibility: Apply in the spring of the preceding year for study travel in the following summer, fall, winter or spring. Essay required.

Art History Awards and Scholarships

Scholarships in Art History

Scholarships in Art History recognize the work of outstanding Art History Majors. A strong applicant will have an above-average GPA in Art History courses at Elon and be an active participant* in the Art History program. Four people siting on a bench holding awards

The Edwina Graff Hughes Johnston Award is given to a rising senior who has shown excellence in academic work and active participation* in the Art History program.

The Helen B. Rippy Award is given to a strong applicant with an above-average GPA in Art History courses at Elon. This student must also be an active participant* in the Art History program.

person sitting at an easel painting The Rhoades Endowment For Global Education was established by retired Elon University faculty member Barbara Rhoades in honor of her father and generations of her family before and after who traveled to understand and appreciate diverse cultures. Distributions from the Endowment are awarded annually to support deserving Elon students who are majoring in art or art history and wish to participate in the University’s Global Educations program, which comprises both International Study and Study USA. The scholarship will alternate from year to year, with the award being given to the Department of Art for one year, and the Art History program in the Department of History and Geography the following year. Completing this application allows the department to inquire about your need-based status. This award will be given through the Art Department in 2024 but will open for students in the Art History program in the Department of History and Geography in 2025 and 2027. 

*Active participation does not mean simply going to talks that are required for your classes. It means taking a leadership role in our program in the department and across campus.

Please email all applications (found via the hyperlinks above) to Applications are due on April 1st.