Student media record big wins at state conference

Colonnades, Elon News Network and Phi Psi Cli all won Best of Show at the annual North Carolina College Media Association gathering hosted virtually by William Peace University.

Colonnades Literary and Art Journal, Elon News Network and Phi Psi Cli yearbook won Best of Show awards on Feb. 28 from the North Carolina College Media Association. Nearly two dozen students were honored in the individual categories, as well.

The awards were presented at the association’s virtual conference for college media students and advisers hosted by William Peace University.

The awards contest included hundreds of entries from more than 20 college media outlets from across the state. Below is a list of only the Elon winners. (The number next to the names indicates where students finished in a particular category.)

Newspaper—Small School

Best of Show – Newspaper

The Pendulum

Best of Show – Online

Elon News Network

Digital Storytelling

1: Maria Ramirez Uribe, Alexandra Roat, Marielle Wanner, Jack Norcross – “Offering Benevolence”

3: Anton Delgado – “Life after Registration”

Feature Writing

3: Christian Galvano – “Extending Education’s Reach”

News Writing

2: Kyra O’Connor – “Knowing the Signs: Understanding what Human Trafficking Is”

Opinion Writing

1: Kennedy Boston – “Not Enough: Elon’s Response to the Trump Convoy is Woefully Inadequate”

3: Trinity Dixon – “Ready and Resilient?”


1: Grace Terry – “Classroom”

3: Clare Grant – “Baseball”

Single- or Two-Page Design

2: Ted Thomas – “Tennis”


2: Caroline Bunder – “Battling Zoom Fatigue”

3: Ted Thomas – “Voter Turnout Surges in Alamance County”

Sports Writing

3: Colby Cook – “Recruitment in the Age of Coronavirus”


Best of Show

Phi Psi Cli

Student Life Copy

2: Emery Eisner – “Trial Run”

Sports Copy

3: Dana Weiner – “Got Game”


2: Connor Willis – “Tony > Curt”

3: Thomas Denome – “Bench Celebration”

Inside Spread Design

3: Kathryn Williams – “Loving Elon”

Literary Magazine

Best of Show



1: Arianne Payne – “Origin Story”


1: Olivia Bennett – “Down the River”

3: Patrick Wei – “Thomas Burning”


2: Molly Cruse – “Things You’ll Never Hear”


2: Abraham Diakite – “Finger Painting”

3: Aravind Vinayakan – “Ron”

In total, five Elon University students attended the virtual conference, which featured workshops and keynote discussions. The students in attendance were Kyra O’Connor ’23, Ted Thomas ’21, Caitlin Rundle ’21, Kathryn Williams ’22 and Ashley D’Andrea ’23.