E-Net News

SEM Department celebrates majors, alumnus at senior banquet

During the May 3 awards ceremony, Jeremy Recoon ’16 received the Major of the Year Award and alumnus Christopher Bayly ’08 served as the evening’s guest speaker, highlighting his career in the sports consulting industry.

Jeremy Recoon ’16 (right) received the Major of the Year Award at the Department of Sport and Event Management’s 2016 senior banquet. Following the ceremony, Tony Weaver, associate professor and chair in the Sport and Event Management Department, congratulated Recoon.

The Department of Sport and Event Management hosted its senior banquet and awards ceremony on May 3, recognizing several members of its graduating class for their outstanding accomplishments and service.

Presented in conjunction with the student-run Premier Sport and Event Society, the annual event kicked off with dinner followed by a guest lecture from Christopher Bayly ’08, an executive at Creative Artists Agency, a leading entertainment and sports agency.

During his speech, Bayly discussed his path from Elon to New York City, his decision to pursue a master’s degree, insights about the sports consulting industry, and his advice to fellow sport and event management majors. “Your degree is incredibly relevant, so don’t limit your vision,” he said, noting the skills obtained in the SEM major translate to numerous industries, fields and businesses.

Christopher Bayly ’08, an executive at Creative Artists Agency, served as the ceremony’s guest speaker, highlighting his experiences in the sports consulting industry.

Following the lecture, the department presented several awards, including its Major of the Year Award to Jeremy Recoon ’16. Katie Beech ’16 received the Achievement Award, Megan Podgorski ’18 took home the Outstanding Underclassman Award, and Mac Ryan ’17 and Kelly Siewers ’17 were both presented with SEM endowed scholarships.

​Carol Pyszkowski ’16 also received the James P. Drummond Service Award, named in honor of the founding department chair of Leisure and Sport Management (later renamed Sport and Event Management). Drummond was on hand to celebrate the award recipients.

Banquet photos are available on the School of Communications Flickr page.

Carol Pyszkowski ’16 (left) and James P. Drummond, founding department chair of Leisure and Sport Management (later renamed Sport and Event Management), pose together for a photograph.

​At the conclusion of the awards ceremony, SEM faculty members and students bid an emotional farewell to Assistant Professor Craig Schmitt, who announced his departure at the end of the spring 2016 semester. He is relocating to Florida with his wife, Abigail.

​​The executive board members of the Premier Sport and Event Society were also acknowledged at the beginning of the ceremony. Recognized board members included Recoon and Pyszkowski (co-presidents), Jack Kelly ’16 (treasurer), Jane Domeck ’16 and Evan Miceli ’16 (marketing representatives) and MK Heaney ’16 (secretary). The student organization is advised by Assistant Professor Shaina Dabbs.


Sport and Event Management Graduating Class

Anthony Alejo
Essence Baucom
Katherine Beech
Elizabeth Benjamin
Ryan Bennett
Emily Bourke
Margaret Bugniazet
Jessica Buller
Maguire Burgess
Emma Carty
Dakota Chayes
Brittany Crimmins
Jane Domeck
Zachary Duprey
Charles Fair
John Fidler
Rachel Garrity
Casey Gaynor
Danielle Gordon
Grace Hanlon
Robert Hartman
Carolyn Hartsfield
Jessica Jones
William Kelley
John Kelly
Jared Kimble
Matthew King
Sarah Leggett
Julia Mainwaring
Matthew Mandile
Tyler Manez
Madeline McCallie
Waverly McConnell
Sean McCoy
Megan McLane
Alexandria Melanson
Evan Miceli
Nicole Miller
Julius Moore
Courtney Newcomb
Morgan O’Brien
Kellie Phillips
Carol Pyszkowski
Jeremy Recoon
Anthony Sabato
Carlos Salas
Tanner Samson
Carrie Spicher
Tyler Stone
Douglas Warrick
Franklin Williams

Tommy Kopetskie,
5/4/2016 10:30 AM