Communications honor society inducts new members

The School of Communications chapter of Lambda Pi Eta hosted an April 12 induction ceremony welcoming 103 new members.

The Elon University School of Communications chapter of Lambda Pi Eta celebrated its 20th annual induction ceremony on April 12, recognizing the academic achievements of 103 new members.

<p>Members of the School of Communications chapter of Lambda Pi Eta prepare for the induction ritual April 12. Pictured (from left) are Juliet Goodman, Kayla Hoey and Helen Thompson. Photos courtesy of Kelly Furnas</p> <p>&nbsp;</p>
Naeemah Clark, associate professor of communications, offered a welcome and presented Lambda Pi Eta scholarships to two outstanding students: Amy Rauch ’19, a double major in strategic communications and communication design, and Alexis Kirkland ’19, a cinema and television arts major.

The program was then turned over to Communications Dean Paul Parsons who presented an Outstanding Alumna Award to Colleen Herndon Penhall ’98. The Elon graduate serves as vice president of corporate social responsibility for Lowe’s Companies, Inc., overseeing corporate sustainability, community relations and Lowe’s Charitable and Educational Foundation.

After the alumni award presentation, student chapter’s executive team led the new members of Lambda Pi Eta through the organization’s induction ritual.

At the conclusion of the induction ceremony, Parsons offered a final charge to the honored students, sharing words of wisdom he first heard from Communications Advisory Board member Craig Waller. The message was: “The workplace, like life, is divided between those who show up and those who actually make things happen.”

<p>Communications Dean Paul Parsons speaks to guests during the Lambda Pi Eta induction ceremony held on campus.</p>
“In this age of astonishingly rapid communication change, and evolution of the workplace, the future will belong to those who make things happen, as opposed to just showing up,” Parsons said. “You are the ones who will make things happen.”

The Elon chapter of Lambda Pi Eta, an organization affiliated with the National Communication Association, got its start in 1998. Any School of Communications student is eligible for membership when he or she has completed at least 60 hours of university credit, with at least 12 of those hours in the School of Communications. Members must possess no less than a 3.0 overall GPA, and a GPA of at least 3.25 in the School of Communications.

In 2013 the National Communication Association named Elon’s chapter of Lambda Pi Eta the national Chapter of the Year and Associate Professor Frances Ward-Johnson the Adviser of the Year.

Associate Professor Amanda Sturgill served as the acting adviser of the chapter this academic year.

2018 Lambda Pi Eta Inductees

Kirby Anstead
Rachel Anne Aquaqviva
Alexandra Attanasio
Payton Auchenbach
Jenna Barone
Victoria Kirchner Baumgarten
Caitlin Brady
Emma Braun
Stephanie Brendel
Kaitlin Brozek
Xena D. Burwell
Sydney Carus
Paige Carlin
Lindsay Marie Case
Kirsten A. Chase
Stacey Erin Cohn
Thomas Coogan
Elyse Cowles
Kristen Currey
Allison Danahy
Olivia Dewey
Gwyneth Donahue
Hannah Marie Durbin
Madison Engle
Taylor Faust
Ally Feinsot
Tyler J. Fewin
Oliver Fischer
Marjorie Anne Foster
Mackenzie Franklin
Troy Fruneaux
Hannah Garfield
Meagan Gitelman
Samantha Glassman
Hannah Goldkrantz
Chloe Golonka
Leah Graf
Margaret Jean Gunson
Cameron Hahn
Wesley Hamed
Alexandra Hamer
Kaitlyn Heit
Joseph Henry-Penrose
Molly Herman-Gallow
Elena Cristina Hernandez
Johanna Maria Hilpuesch
Meghan O’Connor Isaf
Renee Janis
Katherine Kane
Shanley King
Alexis Kirkand
Cameron Koubek
Teal Kraus
Katherine Lawera
Jeff Leu
Tyler Litwin
Margaret Malone
Jared Mayerson
Molly McAdam
Hannah R. McCarthy
Deirdra McKelvy
Crosby Melendi
Erin Mena
Kelsey Milo
Stephanie Milovic
Jennifer Moretti
Grace Morris
Brooke Muller
Lucy Northrup
Abigail Ojemann
Taylor Pomroy
Ciera Quinlan
Rebecca Rabiner
Maria Ramirez
Jessica Rapfogel
Amy Rauch
Matthew Reichenbach
Madison Rieger
Rachel Rosenblum
Lumiere Rostick
Fletcher Rowe
Virginia Royalty
Felicia Salden
Valerie Sampson
Julianna Sawma
Ashlyn Sawyer
Matthew Schwalberg
Jordan Shaw
Jessica Smith
Tyler Spaulding
Carey Spence
Katherine Suppa
Madeline Tringale
Jenna Turner
Morgan Valeo
Kathryn Wakiyama
Ryan Walker
Wynter Wates
Reilly Welsh
Laurel Wind
Sophia Zavada
Katharine Zavagno
Catherine Zimmer
Anna Zwingelberg