The 2023 Omicron Delta Kappa Awards recognize student and staff leaders

More than 20 Elon students and one faculty member were honored during the annual leadership award ceremony.

Elon University celebrated the achievements of top student leaders on Thursday, April 28, during the annual leadership awards program sponsored by the national leadership honor society, Omicron Delta Kappa.

Jodean Schmiederer, dean of student development and assistant professor, provides opening remarks for the 2023 Omicron Delta Kappa Awards.
Jodean Schmiederer, dean of student development and assistant professor, provides opening remarks for the 2023 Omicron Delta Kappa Awards.

Since 1977, Omicron Delta Kappa has recognized Elon students who exhibit high academic standards and outstanding leadership. Other core components include multicultural experience, athletics, campus and community service, social and religious activities, campus government, creative and performing arts and journalism, speech and mass media.

Awards were presented by Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Rebecca Kohn, Vice President of Student Life Jon Dooley, and other notable Elon faculty and staff.

The Omicron Delta Kappa Awards are just one of the many ceremonies recognizing exemplary achievement and service this spring.

2023 Omicron Delta Kappa Award Recipients

William Moseley Brown Leadership Award

Presented by Elon’s Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa, this award is presented to the student who consistently demonstrates the highest ideals of Omicron Delta Kappa: scholarship, service, integrity, character and fellowship, including providing distinguished leadership to his or her peers. The award is named in honor of a former Elon faculty member and one of the original founders of the national chapter of Omicron Delta Kappa.

  • Megan Curling

Student Media Award

This award is presented to the student who has contributed the most to advance communications on-campus during the current academic year.

  • Nyah Phengsitthy

Leadership Studies Award

The Leadership Studies Award is awarded annually to the senior Leadership Studies minor who has best exemplified the study of leadership as an academic discipline through excellence in related coursework, research and/or other scholarly contributions.

  • Keiarra Bray
  • Ariana Wilson

Hilaire Pickett ’08 Leadership Grant

The endowed scholarship, the Hilaire Pickett ’08 Leadership Grant, is awarded to students participating in the Leadership Education and Development at Elon. Awards are granted to support students in their junior or senior years to pursue leadership internships or legacy efforts. The students must demonstrate a significant commitment to their organizations and academics and actively contribute to the Elon community.

  • Mason Mosley
  • Hanna Engelhardt

The PERCS Outstanding Ethnography Award

This award recognizes the student who has conducted the most outstanding ethnographic research project at Elon University, judged according to the quality of both the process and product. The award is given by PERCS: The Program for Ethnographic Research and Community Studies.

  • Samantha Schwamberger
  • Natalie Triche

GlaxoSmithKline Women in Science Scholar Award

This scholarship is awarded by the North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation’s Women in Science Scholars Program to a rising sophomore or junior majoring in math or science. Under the program, scholarship recipients are paired with professional GlaxoSmithKline women who have excelled in various science-related fields and careers, and can provide guidance and shared experiences with the scholars.

  • Morgan Micharski

Katharine duPont Weymouth Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to outstanding juniors in the social sciences and given in honor of alumnus Frank Lyon ’71.

  • Courtney Abruzzo

W.L. Monroe Christian Education and Personality Award

Recipients of this award demonstrate citizenship and a strong desire to help others improve themselves. A trust created by the late W.L. Monroe Sr., who attended Elon in 1917, provides cash awards to the recipients.

  • Briston Whitt

Truitt Center Reconciliation Award

This award is presented to a student who best exemplifies the vision of Douglas G. Noiles and Edna Truitt Noiles ’44, who endowed the program in the Vera Richardson Truitt Center for Religious and Spiritual Life “to enable Elon students to learn about their own and other faiths and to live lives of reconciliation.”

  • Caroline DiGrande
  • Morgan Chisholm
  • Ian Myers

Ella Brunk Smith Award

In honor of Ella Brunk Smith, wife of former Elon President Dr. L.E. Smith, a cash award is presented to a female student in the senior class who has made significant contributions to the religious and moral life on campus.

  • Stephanie Miljanic
  • Elizabeth Czenczek

Martha Smith Award for Women’s, Gender and Sexualities Studies

This award is given in honor of Martha Smith, one of the founding mothers of the women’s, gender and sexualities studies program at Elon University, to recognize the academic and activist achievements of a graduating senior Women’s, Gender and Sexualities Studies minor.

  • Trevor Molin

Iris Holt McEwen Community Service Award

This award is presented to a student whose service to Elon and the larger community exemplifies the generosity of spirit and dedication to the philanthropy of Iris Holt McEwen.

  • Amani Smalls
Jon Dooley, vice president of student life presenting Hugh Goldstein'23 with the one of the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Awards
Jon Dooley, vice president of student life presenting Hugh Goldstein ’23 with the one of the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Awards

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award

The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award is presented to graduating seniors, alumni and community members of selected colleges and universities in the Southern United States for excellence of character and service to humanity.  At Elon, two graduating seniors and one faculty or staff member are recognized annually for their honesty, morality, ethics, integrity, responsibility, determination, courage and compassion.

  • Hugh Goldstein
  • Christina Carr
  • Terry Tomasek

John W. Barney Memorial Award

This award recognizes the senior(s) with the highest cumulative ­GPA. Colleagues, former students, and friends of the late John W. Barney established this award in his honor. Mr. Barney graduated from Elon in 1910 and was a faculty member for over three decades.

  • Jane Ragland