Phi Beta Kappa inducts new members

The April 16 dinner and ceremony included remarks by President Connie Ledoux Book and an address by Charles Irons, professor of history and chair of the Department of History and Geography.

Fifty-five Elon University students were inducted into Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest and often considered the nation’s most prestigious honor society, during an April 16 dinner and ceremony.

Fifty-five Elon students were inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa academic honor society during a ceremony on Friday, April 16, 2021.

The new inductees heard remarks from President Connie Ledoux Book and an address by Charles Irons, the William J. Story Jr. Professor of History and chair of the Department of History and Geography. Irons was introduced by Amanda Sturgill, associate professor of journalism.

Phi Beta Kappa has established chapters at 286 colleges and universities in the United States, representing only 10 percent of the nation’s institutions of higher learning. Each year, the top 10 percent of arts and sciences graduates at these institutions are selected for membership. Elon’s Eta Chapter of North Carolina was installed on April 13, 2010.

Candidates for Induction

  • Max Victor Ades
  • Nicole Lauren Amelio
  • Sarah Michaela Austin
  • Griffin Patrick Barriss
  • Daniel Thomas Bascuñan-Wiley
  • Adam Robert Behrman
  • Mikaela Danielle Benton
  • Emma Claire Burns
  • Angélica Sofía Collazo Martínez
  • Jordyn Leah Cowan
  • Anna Camille DuBro
  • Margaret Kelly Farmar
  • Grace O’Neill Feiner
  • Jo Anna Fradkin
  • Grace Martin Garrett
  • Sydney Rey Hallisey
  • Hannah Willis Hattori
  • Ashlynn A. Hawes
  • Nicole Elise Hawley
  • Mary Kathryn Helm
  • Margaret Halsted Hughes
  • Jacqueline Lauren Jacobson
  • Sarah Ellen Johnson
  • Emily Ann Katz
  • India Laina Kirssin
  • Hannah Irene Korycinski
  • Elizabeth Kathleen Stephanie Land
  • Macen Edie Lantzman
  • Petra Earth Lezama
  • Cara Sydelle Linder
  • Molly Louise Logan
  • Sarah Katherine Loos
  • Jason Paul Luty
  • Liza Raquel Margules
  • Mackenzie Sara Martinez
  • Katelyn Coyne McCarthy
  • Caroline Grace McGimsey
  • Matthew Holton Mitten
  • Meghan Eun-Seon Murray
  • Angela Dawn Myers
  • Margaret Merriam Napper
  • Megan Zakaya Furneaux Noor
  • Bailey Rachel Numbers
  • Kelsey Lauren Palacios
  • Lilly Catherine Penaloza
  • Alexa Rae Rasmussen
  • Kristiana Champagne Ringer
  • Lily Jing Sandifer-Stech
  • Alexandra Noel Smith
  • Tasia Sophia Theoharis
  • Sadie Beth Traylor
  • Abigail Rose Weintrob
  • Jane Maren Williams
  • Cameron Clarke Wilson
  • Aleeza Loren Zinn