Dr. Leo M. Lambert Awards & SGA Inauguration Ceremony

Each spring, the Student Government Association recognizes outstanding student organizations, programs, and leaders for their exemplary service to their group and the University community.

An application for the awards identified below will be available at the start of the Spring semester.

Awards for Organizations/Programs

Outstanding New Student Organization
This award is designed to recognize the hard work and dedication that it takes to establish a new organization. This organization must have received recognition no more than 2 years ago and no less than 6 months ago (at the time the application is submitted).

Reverend McBride Campus and Greater Community Involvement
The McBride Award is given to the organization that has contributed the most to the general welfare of the campus and the greater community through service. Their contributions should have affected the students, faculty, and the community as a whole.

Highest GPA (includes Campus Programs)
This award recognizes those groups who maintain the highest academic standards and performance. This award will be based on the cumulative GPA’s of organization members.  Rosters will be verified through Student Involvement and PhoenixCONNECT or the program’s reporting dean.

Student Organizations of the Year (2 awards are given)
These awards recognize student organizations (under 30 members and 30+ members) that have excelled throughout the year. The overall GPA of the organizations will also be considered and groups must be in good standing with Student Involvement and the Office of Student Conduct.

University Program of the Year
This award is designed to recognize the University program (funded or managed through a University department) that has excelled throughout the year.

Student Organization Committee of the Year
This award recognizes student organization committees that have excelled and enhanced their organization.  The team should consist of at least four members and no more than ten members.  The committee should be nominated by officers in the organization.

Awards for Faculty or Staff Sponsors

Barbara H. Carlton Outstanding Advisor of the Year
The Outstanding Advisor of the Year Award is named for Barbara H. Carlton, former SGA advisor. The award is designed to recognize an advisor’s hard work, time, and effort dedicated to their student organization.

Dr. Gerald Francis Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year
The SGA Academic Relations Committee gives the Gerald Francis Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year award to one faculty member who exemplifies excellence within teaching and mentoring.

Brian O’Shea Outstanding Service to Students
This award recognizes a staff member who has gone above and beyond their call of duty in their job. This award is named for Brian Charles OʼShea, former staff member who served the student body well beyond the duties listed in his job description.

Awards for Individual Members

Janice J. Ratliff Student Organization Member of the Year
Organization success would not be possible without the hard work and determination of the students who go the extra mile. This recognizes an outstanding individual who gives their time and energy for their organization in a role not defined by a leadership position.

Student Organization Officer of the Year
An organization cannot grow and move forward without officers to lead through its failure and success. This recognizes an outstanding individual who leads with commitment, character, and integrity. The nomination for outstanding officer award should be chosen by the membership of the organization.

G. Smith Jackson Award for Outstanding Student Mentorship
The peer mentor is both a friend and a role model who supports and encourages fellow students in their academic and personal growth. This award will go to one undergraduate student who exemplifies excellence with mentoring and support.

Dr. Jana Lynn Patterson Student Organization Newcomer of the Year
This award is designed to recognize new student leaders involved in organizations. The Student Government Association seeks to recognize outstanding individuals who give their time and energy to organizations and show potential for positive impact.

Dr. J. Earl Danieley Leadership Award (1-2 awardees)
This award is named after one of our campus’s greatest leaders and is designed to recognize exemplary student leaders on campus. These leaders aren’t necessarily officers or presidents but those students who have made a commitment to their organization.  These student leaders dedicate time and have helped the organization grow and develop.