The Office of Sustainability's mission is to advance sustainability at Elon by helping to streamline and improve university operations and developing and fostering educational programs.

The Office works toward this mission by collaborating across the campus and overseeing and coordinating sustainability programs and initiatives. Key areas of focus include: reducing greenhouse gas emissions, conserving resources and educating the community. An overview of select campus initiatives can be viewed here.


2004 President Lambert appoints the Environmental Advisory Council (EAC).
2006-2007 Environmental Advisory Council develops the Sustainability Master Plan.
2008 Elon hires its first, full-time Sustainability Coordinator, Elaine Durr.
2009 Elon Commitment Strategic Plan features sustainability under theme eight.
2010 Climate Action Plan is developed. Sustainability Coordinator position evolves into Director of Sustainability.
2011 Elon becomes a STARS participant and earns a Silver rating.


Elon University’s Sustainability Policy clearly identifies Elon’s commitment to sustainability and provides a series of goals that will serve as the guiding principles for Elon’s sustainability initiatives. It was created using the Sustainability Master Plan as a guide and is meant to complement it rather than supersede it.

Elon University’s Sustainability Master Plan was created by the Environmental Advisory Council at the request of President Lambert in 2006. The plan is the guiding document for Elon's sustainability initiative and is the culmination of several months of research. It identifies campus practices already in place that were reducing Elon’s environmental impact and lists several recommendations to expand Elon’s efforts.

University Environmental Advisory Council

Elon University’s Environmental Advisory Council is a standing Council of faculty, students and staff whose members are appointed by the President. Members typically serve a two-year term. The role of the Council is to raise awareness of environmental issues and sustainable practices and promote environmental awareness. The Council may make recommendations to the President on new sustainability initiatives to undertake or improvements to current initiatives. 

The current Council members are as follows:

James Beuerle
Associate Professor, Mathematics 

Jessica Bilecki
Education and Outreach Coordinator, Office of Sustainability 

Robert Buchholz
Assistant Vice President for Facilities Management, Director of Physical Plant

Janet Cope
Associate Professor, Physical Therapy Education

Cameron Douglass
Student Representative, Class of 2016

Elaine Durr, Chair
Director of Sustainability

Thomas Friend
Student Representative, Class of 2016

Josh Green
Director of Student Conduct

Holly Hodge
Interior Designer, Planning Design and Construction Management

Michele Kleckner
Senior Lecturer, Computing Sciences and Sustainability Faculty Fellow 

Raghu Tadepalli
Dean, Martha and Spencer Love School of Business

Gerald Whittington
Senior Vice President for Business, Finance and Technology and Associate Professor