Elon University

Global IGF 2008 – Video from Day Three: The Open Dialogue on Critical Internet Resources

Day 3 Speakers IGF 2008This open dialogue centered on issues tied to critical Internet resources – the actual physical structure, routers, hardware and software that make it work – and the management of key resources, including the domain name system, IP addresses and the administration of the root server system. This open discussion followed two mainstage panel discussions earlier in the day titled “Transition from IPv4 to IPv6” and “Global, Regional, and National Arrangements.”

The video clips included here were recorded from thousands of miles away from Hyderabad. They are a remote capture of the live web-video stream produced from IGF. The files have some dropouts, freezes and other glitches, but for the most part the video and audio are clean and clear. Special thanks to the technical advisers who handled the video streaming from IGF to allow remote participants to play a role.

Due to technical limitations on the receiving end, the first half of this session was not recorded. The clips here are from the concluding segment. A co-host for the session was Chris Disspain, CEO of .au Domain Administration Ltd and the chair of ICANN’s country-code names-supporting organization (ccNSO). He is pictured above with Markus Kummer, to his right. Kummer is executive director of the UN Secretariat for the Internet Governance Forum. Another co-host of the session was Jeanette Hofmann of the London School of Economics.

These are QuickTime video files that require a high-speed connection. We will later link them on YouTube in a smaller, more convenient file size.

> Video clip 1: Emily Taylor, Nominet, the registry for UK domain names
> Video clip 2: Zicai Tang, China’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs
> Video clip 3: Alun Michael, member of UK Parliament
> Video clip 4: Jean-Jacques Subrenat, ICANN, chair of public participation committee 
> Video clip 5: Gurumurthy Kasinathan, IT for Change
> Video clip 6: Mark Blafkin, Association for Competitive Technology
> Video clip 7: Parminder Singh, co-coordinator of the Internet Governance Caucus, representing civil society
> Video clip 8: Everton Lucero, ICANN’s Government Advisory Council
> Video clip 9: Ayesha Hassan, International Chamber of Commerce BASIS
> Video clip 10: Milton Mueller, Internet Governance Project
> Video clip 11: Ian Peter, co-coordinator of the Internet Governance Caucus
> Video clip 12: Steve Delbianco, NetChoice
> Video clip 13: Liesyl Franz, Information Technology Association of America
> Video clip 14: Suresh Ramasubramanian, Asia Pacific Internet Association (APIA)
> Video clip 15: Bertrand de La Chapelle, French Ministry of Foreign Affairs
> Video clip 16: Byron Holland, Canadian Internet Registry Authority
> Video clip 17: Willie Currie, Association for Progressive Communications
> Video clip 18: Subrenat, Raul Echeberria, and Taylor comment
> Video clip 19: Madhusudan Mysore, Tata Communications, concludes the dialogue

Full UN transcript of the open dialogue on Critical Internet Resources

Additional information can be found on the IGF site.

Echeberria Speaking IGF