Elon University

The 2019 Internet Society Internet Hall of Fame Celebration

The Internet Society inducted 11 new members to the Internet Hall of Fame at its fifth-ever Internet Hall of Fame Induction Sept. 27 in San José, Costa Rica. Inductees included internet pioneers from Togo, Brazil, Japan, Peru, the Netherlands and the United States.

The 2019 year’s inductees are Adiel Akplogan, Kimberly Claffy, Douglas Earl Comer, Elise Gerich, Larry Irving, Dan Lynch, Jean Armor Polly, José Soriano, Michael Stanton, Klaas Wierenga and Suguru Yamaguchi. They are being honored due to their impact, influence and innovation and the reach of their contributions. (The group photo of inductees above is by Garrett Britton for the Internet Society.)

The following links lead to pages featuring video and written coverage: 

1 – INTERNET HALL OF FAME INDUCTION CEREMONY: Acceptance speeches by the 2019 inductees into the Hall of Fame who were in attendance at these Internet Society events

2 – INTERNET HALL OF FAME INTERVIEWS: The 2019 inductees who traveled to San José to participate in the induction ceremony sat down to share their views in thought-provoking 10-minute sessions

3 – HALL OF FAMERS’ HOPES AND FEARS: The new Internet Hall of Famers share their hopes and fears for the future of the Internet

The 2019 ceremony marked the first time the awards have been held in Latin America. The first Internet Hall of Fame induction took place in Geneva, Switzerland, in 2012, followed by ceremonies in Berlin, Hong Kong, Los Angeles and San José, Costa Rica.

The Imagining the Internet Interview Team

The Imagining the Internet Center documentary video team working on this project included undergraduate researchers Anton Delgado, Maria Ramirez, Alexandra Roat and Jared Mayerson of Elon University’s School of Communications. Elon faculty who worked on this project were Alex Luchsinger and Janna Anderson.