The Elon University School of Law Advisory Board includes prominent judges, attorneys and business leaders who advise the university about the law school’s development.

The board is chaired by David Gergen, who served as director of communications for President Reagan and held positions in the administrations of Presidents Nixon, Ford and Clinton.

Below are the members of the board:

Noel Allen, Raleigh, N.C.; President, Founding and Managing Partner, Allen & Pinnix, PA; Elon University trustee

Marc Bishop, Greensboro, N.C.; Partner, Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey & Leonard, LLP

R. Steve Bowden, Greensboro, N.C.; Principal, R. Steve Bowden & Associates; member, University of North Carolina Board of Governors

Jason M. Burton L’11, Raleigh, N.C.; Principal, Burton Law Firm, PLLC

Donald R. Dancer, Raleigh, N.C.; former Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary, International Rectifier Corporation; Distinguished Practitioner in Residence, Elon Law

James G. Exum Jr., Greensboro, N.C.; retired, Smith Moore Leatherwood, LLP; N.C. Supreme Court, 1974-94, Chief Justice, 1986-94; N.C. House of Representatives, 1967

Henry E. Frye, Greensboro, N.C.; retired, Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey & Leonard LLP; N.C. Supreme Court, 1983-2000, Chief Justice, 1999-2000; N.C. House of Representatives, 1968-80; N.C. Senate, 1980-82

David Gergen (Chair), Cambridge, Mass.; former adviser to four U.S. presidents; Professor of Public Service, Director of the Center for Public Leadership, Harvard Kennedy School

Ellen M. Gregg, Winston-Salem, N.C.; Partner, Womble Bond Dickinson LLP; member, N.C. Chief Justice’s Commission on Professionalism, 2005-2008

Bassam (Sam) N. Ibrahim, Alexandria, Va.; Attorney and Shareholder, Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC

Mark S. Jetton ’06 L’09, Charlotte, N.C.; Founding Partner, Jetton & Meredith, PLLC

Ronny Lancaster, Washington, D.C.; Senior Vice President of Public Affairs and Government Relations, Assurant, Inc. (Retired)

Edward Lichtenstein, Chicago, Ill.; Managing Partner, The Law Offices of Edward Lichtenstein, P.C.

Robert E. (Bobby) Long Jr., Greensboro, N.C.; Piedmont Capital Partners, LLC; Elon University trustee

Susan I. Permut, Hopkinton, Mass.; Senior Vice President & Deputy General Counsel (retired), EMC Corporation

James C. (Jack) Spencer Jr., Burlington, N.C.; N.C. Emergency Superior Court Judge, 2009-present; N.C. Resident Superior Court Judge, Judicial District 15A, 1994-2009; private law practice 1969-94

Jonathan Wall, Greensboro, N.C.; Higgins Benjamin, PLLC; chair, Labor Law Council, N.C. Bar Association, 2008-2009

Gerald Walden, Whitsett, N.C.; Vice President & Head of Legal, The Fresh Market, Inc.

Ex Officio

David Porter, Chair, Elon University Board of Trustees

Andrea Davis L’12, immediate past president, Elon Law Alumni Council and attorney with Brock and Scott PLLC

Mallory Horne L’14, president, Elon Law Alumni Council a partner with Teague Rotenstreich Stanaland Fox & Holt, P.L.L.C.

Law School Representatives

Connie Ledoux Book, President, Elon University

Raghu Tadepalli, Interim Provost, Dean of the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business, Elon University

Tim Peeples, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs & Professor – English, Elon University

Alan Woodlief, Interim Dean and Professor of Law