Get to Know Your Historic Neighbors

Neighborhood Leadership Team

Christal Southern is the Community Director of Historic Neighborhood. She lives in HBB (Hook, Brannock, Barney) and her office in the LaRose Commons.

Professor William Moner is the Faculty Director of Historic Neighborhood. Professor Moner lives in the West Hall faculty residence with his family and his office is Long 103D.

Casey Enright is the Graduate Assistant for Historic Neighborhood. Her office is located in the LaRose Commons.

Amy Vaughn is the Program Assistant for Historic Neighborhood. Her office is located in the LaRose Commons.

Together, Professor Moner, Christal, and Casey oversee the development of the social and intellectual life of Historic Neighborhood. Professor Moner and Christal are the Co-Chairs for the Historic Neighborhood Association, which consists of students who reside in the neighborhood as well as faculty and staff who are engaged in various events and programs with the neighborhood. Together, the Neighborhood Association works to serve the interests of the residents in the Historic community while planning and implementing programming that fulfills the objectives and goals of the Historic Neighborhood Plan. The Neighborhood Association meets four to six times per year and offers leadership opportunities for students and an easy way for faculty and staff to become more engaged in the life of our neighborhood. Please check out our Get Involved page for more information about connecting to the neighborhood.

Historic Neighborhood Association Members


  • William Moner – Faculty Director
  • Christal Southern – Community Director

Faculty and Staff Members:

Residential Learning Community Faculty and Staff Advisors

Communications– Sloan Hall 1st Floor, Advisors:

Outdoor Learning – Virginia


Sport Media and Management – Sloan


Faculty and Staff Affiliates

Neighborhood affiliates include faculty and staff who help Historic residents make connections outside of the classroom and office hours.